Skip to main content
Banner Image

Catholic Studies: Primary Sources and Special Collections

This guide is designed to aid researchers who focus on Catholic Studies inquiry with support materials provided via the Monsignor William Noé Field Archives & Special Collections Center and associated sources.

Catholic Studies at Seton Hall University

This site is a guide to primary source materials and special collections for Catholic Studies at Seton Hall University, and is designed to be referenced in conjunction with the main Catholic Studies LibGuide. The content found here highlights unique resources such as manuscripts, rare books, and archival materials held at the Monsignor Field Archives and Special Collections Center at Seton Hall, and also includes the Immaculate Conception Seminary Library and related institutions near South Orange. This site is updated regularly to include new or newly described materials.

To use this guide, click on the blue tabs above for a given subject area or to see information for nearby institutions.

Support of the continuing scholarship efforts of researchers who are affiliated with the Department of Catholic Studies is an ongoing collaboration. Visit the site for the Department of Catholic Studies for more information.

Mission Statement

The Monsignor William Noé Field Archives & Special Collections Center serves as the official repository for materials of enduring historical value documenting Seton Hall University and our parent organization, the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark. We exist to identify, collect, and preserve pertinent and unique materials, including rare books, manuscripts, photographs, audio/video recordings, and art works that support the Catholic educational mission of Seton Hall University, and to offer access and research aid to the community.

The Center collects select non-current materials possessing valid research value that are produced by or have a direct connection to Seton Hall University and its educational mission; we also house select materials from our parent organization, the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark. The Center further focuses on unique materials documenting the history of Catholicism in New Jersey and several other select subject areas.

Seton Hall University
400 South Orange Avenue
South Orange, NJ 07079
(973) 761-9000