Special Collections at Seton Hall University

The à Kempis Club of New Jersey was a Catholic women's organization, affiliated with the National Conference of Catholic Women, that hosted events featuring speakers or lecturers on a variety of topics, raised money for charity, and celebrated mass. The à Kempis Club of New Jersey records include newsclippings, yearbooks, correspondence, stationary, and a guestbook, documenting the activities of the Club in the 1990's.
0.25 linear feet.

The Bayley Seton League was founded in 1938 and is recognized as the oldest service organization at Seton Hall University. The Bayley-Seton League records include documents related to the operation of the organization.
5.0 Linear feet

The Catholic Women's College Club was a New Jersey organization in operation from at least 1934-1985. This collection spans the years of 1934 through 1985 and documents the development and subsequent operations of the Catholic Women's College Club, a New Jersey organization. The collection includes records of meetings and activities as well as clippings and memorabilia.
2.0 Linear feet , Approximately 700 items.

Elizabeth Ann Seton was the first American-born saint, and is the patroness of Seton Hall University. The Collection on Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton contains materials documenting the life and legacy of Elizabeth Anne Seton and was compiled by the Monsignor Field Archives and Special Collections Center.
2.5 linear feet.

William and Marie Henderson were New Jersey natives who were actively involved with the Seton Hall University community and the larger Catholic community in the South Orange area, through the Bayley Seton League, the Society for the Propagation of the Faith, the a Kempis Club of New Jersey, the Mercier Club, and other organizations. The William T. and Marie J. Henderson papers include the personal papers of William and Marie Henderson related to various activities, some photographs, and some material related to Seton Hall University and their family history.
3.0 linear feet.

The Diocese of Newark chapter of the National Council of Catholic Women was formed in 1923. This collection includes records of the Council such as minutes, by-laws, and reports.
½ linear foot, approximately 30 items.

John J. O'Connor was born in Newark, NJ in 1855, attended Seton Hall College and the North American College in Rome. He was a priest of the Diocese of Newark, a professor at Seton Hall College, the Vicar General of the Diocese under Bishop Winand Wigger, and became Bishop of the Diocese of Newark upon the death of Bishop Wigger, in 1901. He served as bishop until his death in 1927. The John J. O'Connor papers include the personal and professional papers of Bishop O'Connor, primarily from his time as the Bishop of the Diocese of Newark; these materials include episcopal and legal documents, correspondence, visitation ledgers, and other materials. The collection also includes some professional papers of Bishop O'Connor's Vicar General, Rev. John Sheppard, and his Chancellor, Rev. Thomas Wallace.
9.5 linear feet.

Sister Marie Celeste is a noted author, Sister of Charity, and professor of French Studies at Loyola University. She has written several books on the life of Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton. The Marie Celeste papers consist of documents pertaining to the life of Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton as well as some other professional and some personal papers.
6 linear feet.

Miriam Rooney was a lawyer, the first dean of the Seton Hall University Law School (making her the first female dean of a law school in the United States), and a professor of law. The Miriam Rooney papers include letters from friends, a diary, photographs, and religous papers, some of which relate to the death of Monsignor Edward Pace.
0.5 linear feet.

Gloria Schneider Papers, 1958-1980, MSS 0150
The personal papers of Gloria Schneider pertaining to her volunteer work for several church and civic organizations. The bulk of materials relate to Schneider's tenure as board member of the Mount Carmel Guild of the Archdiocese of Newark, with smaller series related to her involvement with the Newark Archdiocesan Council of Catholic Women, Msgr. Kirk Chaplain's Aid Association, and the Bergen County Office on Aging. These records offer insight into the volunteer efforts of the organizations represented within, which focused on providing aid to residents of Newark and Bergen County.
1 linear foot

The collection contains the papers of the Seton family of New York City and the Jevons family of Liverpool, England and New York City.
20.0 Linear feet , Approximately 45,000 items.

The Seton Junior League was founded in 1940 by young women fond of the idea of service in hopes of one day becoming part of the Bayley-Seton League. The Seton Junior League collection includes reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, and other materials related to the operation of the League.
1.0 Linear feet Approximately 50 items.

Mary Theresa (King) Smith was a prominent figure in Catholic and volunteer works in New Jersey throughout the mid 1900's. The Mary Smith papers relate to her work within several different Catholic and volunteer organizations, and spans the years between 1933 and 1970, including the Mount Carmel Guild and the National Council of Catholic Women.
1 linear foot, Approximately 300 items.

Rose Elizabeth Thering was born on 9 August 1920, entered the Dominican sisterhood at 16 and later became a teacher. She was a lifelong activist dedicated to increasing tolerance and understanding between Christians and Jews, and her work had great impact, from legislation mandating the teaching of the Holocaust in New Jersey schools to documents created at the Second Vatican Council changing the relationship of the Catholic Church with Jewish people. Sister Rose Thering died 6 May 2006. The Rose Thering papers consists of the professional and personal papers of Sister Rose Thering. The collection includes writings, correspondence, speeches, travel information, and subject files.
Approximately 18.0 linear feet.

The Vicar for Religious, historically a member of the clergy or a member of a religious order, serves as the liaison between the Archbishop and the religious orders of the diocese. The Vicar for Religious of the Archdiocese of Newark records primarily consists of correspondence between members of religious orders, primarily the womens' religious orders, and the Archbishop, via the Vicar. The correspondence covers topics including contracts, ceremonies, practices of the religious orders, canonization of the founders of some orders, and other matters.
Approximately 19 linear feet.

The records of the volunteer organization Women's Guild of Seton Hall University.
5.0 Linear feet , Approximately 1300 items

This collection documents the history, activities, and celebrations of many of the women's Religious Orders throughout New Jersey, generally spanning the years from 1968-2012. The collection also contains materials related to some out-of-state orders, particularly in New York, and materials related to Saint Elizabeth Anne Seton and individual sisters of some orders.
7.0 boxes