Africana Studies

Explore the nation's past in unprecedented ways. Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries.

Explore African American history, culture and society in the 19th and 20th centuries.

African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922. Crucial documents covering the lives of African Americans during the rise of segregation and Jim Crow.

Crucial documents covering the lives of African Americans in the years following the Civil War.

Premier archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States from the 19th century through the 20th century.

ProQuest Primary Sources Collection.
Black Studies Center
Includes: The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; Index to Black Periodicals Full Text; Black Literature Index; Chicago Defender (Historical Newspaper), 1912-1975.

Comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

JSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).

Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Focuses on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

Features thousands of annotated references and bibliographic citations on a wide-range of people, places, and specific events which had an impact on shaping world history.

HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. SHU's subscription to HathiTrust offers full-text reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

JSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).

A global summary of published work in fine art, fashion, design, architecture, film, performing arts, and more.

Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Literature Online contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day.

Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.

Current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

The Chronicle of Higher Education is a source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.

Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.

Provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Content within its scope is selected for indexing based on enduring scholarly merit.

An archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.

This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.

A fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.

The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.