Skip to Main Content
Business Research Guide
Key resources in support of the curriculum of the Stillman School of Business
Business Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection (1971 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window Scholarly and professional business articles. There are also company profiles, SWOT analyses, business dissertations, and articles from the Wall Street Journal.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (1971 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window Database includes accounting and taxation - journal articles, dissertations, working papers and newspapers. It includes global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window Gale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, usable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research. Includes thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. A profile for every UN recognized country, Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc.
- Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters/Tax & Accounting) This link opens in a new window Thomson Reuters Checkpoint is the industry leader for online tax and accounting information.
- China Data Online This link opens in a new window Primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer). If you encounter accessibility issues with this resource, a librarian can assist you; contact Dr. Xue-Ming Bao, baoxuemi@shu.edu.
- Computing Database (1998 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window Database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet - journal articles This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's.
- HeinOnline (Shared from SETON HALL | LAW) This link opens in a new window HeinOnline contains 2,500 law-related periodicals and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
- LexisNexis University (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 in a new, intuitive interface.
- New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) (June 1, 1980 - current) This link opens in a new window Current, full-text access to the NYT from 1980 to present.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window PolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
- Reference Solutions (old name: ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window This resource is provided by the New Jersey State Library (JerseyClicks). Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; and 683,000 U.S. health care providers.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window A source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window SRDS Media Solutions provides media information: advertising rates, dates and contact data with direct links to media kits and audit statements. If you have a visual impairment or fine motor impairment, some of the features of the Kantar SRDS database may not be accessible, but a librarian can assist you; contact Chelsea Barrett, chelsea.barrett@shu.edu
- Statista: Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries This link opens in a new window Statista managed to establish itself as a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish.
- ValueLine Investment Survey This link opens in a new window The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. For each stock it offers one to five years probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
- Wall Street Journal, The (1889-2000) (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThe digital backfile of the Wall Street Journal provides historical coverage of business news and worldwide financial markets. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this database delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text.
- Winmo (formerly known as "Redbooks Agency & Advertising": Search for Brands, Agencies and Companies and more... This link opens in a new window Winmo is formerly known as Redbooks Agency & Advertising. It provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertising agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Profiles include agency accounts, specializations, billings by media, and agency family trees. Also includes information on over 15,000 U.S. and international advertisers, which are companies that spend a significant portion of their annual budget on advertising. Includes specific advertising data such as approximate annual advertising spending by media and agencies retained by the advertiser. Redbooks.com also includes a job search site for openings in the advertising industry.
Find SHU Library Resources
Journals
Search Business Reference Books @Credo