Physical Therapy

This book will answer two basic questions: First, what is the extent of the significant research resources you will you miss if you confine your research entirely, or even primarily, to sources available on the open Internet? Second, if you are trying to get a reasonably good overview of the literature on a particular topic, rather than just "something quickly" on it, what are the several alternative methods of subject searching - which are not available on the Web - that are usually much more efficient for that purpose than typing keywords into a blank search box,.

Guidelines for Reporting Health Research is a practical guide to choosing and correctly applying the appropriate guidelines when reporting health research to ensure clear, transparent, and useful reports. This new title begins with an introduction to reporting guidelines and an overview of the importance of transparent reporting, the characteristics of good guidelines, and how to use reporting guidelines effectively in reporting health research. This hands-on manual also describes over a dozen internationally recognised published guidelines such as CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA and STARD in a clear and easy to understand format. It aims to help researchers choose and use the correct guidelines for reporting their research, and to produce more completely and transparently reported papers which will help to ensure reports are more useful and are not misleading. Written by the authors of health research reporting guidelines, in association with the EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) Network, Guidelines for Reporting Health Research is a helpful guide to producing publishable research. It will be a valuable resource for researchers in their role as authors and also an important reference for editors and peer reviewers.

How to Read a Paper describes the different types of clinical research reporting, and explains how to critically appraise the publications. The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level. Changes for the 4th edition The fourth edition will include two new chapters on important developments in health care research and delivery, but otherwise retains its original style, size, and scope. New chapter on quality improvement - describing papers on quality improvement projects using ebm methods;  this will extend the readership to non clinical health care professionals working in hospitals and family practice, and to nurse specialists and practice nurses working in this field New chapter on complex interventions - how to set up research projects involving both qualitative and quantitative methodology (known as mixed methods) Thorough revision and updating of existing chapters and references New illustrations - diagrammatic representations of ebm concepts

This second edition of Diana Ridley′s bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis. New to this edition are: Examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines A new chapter on conducting systematic reviews Increased guidance on evaluating the quality of online sources and online literature Enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues. This book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from various academic disciplines. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!

This book is a practical guide for residents and young researchers who are planning to embark on research. It details the significant planning one must first do including choosing a suitable experienced clinician as a supervisor, sourcing for a 'winning idea' with significant clinical impact, performing a proper review of literature, defining clearly the objectives to be set and adopting the appropriate methodology. Statistical evaluation must be done from the start of the research to define adequate sample size and also for evaluation of the results. It also advises how one should draw upon relevant and appropriate conclusions from the results obtained.The ethics of research is also discussed. An all-important factor in research is the procurement of research grants. Readers are guided how to write a proper research proposal to secure these much needed grants.Many research papers end up as presentations only in local or international conferences. An important additional objective of this book is to guide young researchers how to write their finished product -- as a publication in an important international, refereed journal or as a thesis. Chapters have been specially written with tips for scientific writing, selecting the right journal, writing for an original article for a journal, a review article, a case report as well as for a thesis. Tips are also written on what reviewers of a journal look for in an article as well as what examiners look for in a thesis.

A reader-friendly exploration of the key approaches used to conduct health program research and evaluation* Includes an easy-to-understand chapter on Inferential Statistics* Covers ethical and cultural competency issues unique to conducting evaluations*

Ideal for students, novice researchers, or professionals, this indispensable resource serves as a road map for readers who need to analyze and apply research findings. It helps them think critically about the credibility of what they are reading by showing them how to identify problems and develop constructive questions. Key Features Assumes no prior knowledge of research procedures Provides readers with a step-by-step format for decoding the complex language and formats used in reports and reviews Includes the most common formats for both quantitative and qualitative inquiry Offers both illustrative examples and powerful training exercises Gives specific attention to strategies for critically appraising reported research Presents completely updated references as well as an annotated bibliography Intended Audience This text is appropriate for both upper-level undergraduate and graduate students across the social sciences enrolled in introductory research courses as well as students in professional preparation programs.

Remington Education: Drug Information & Literature Evaluation teaches students how to effectively and efficiently locate and analyze up-to-date drug information and literature. It succinctly examines key drug information and literature-evaluation principles - the proper approach for answering drug/health information questions, tertiary and secondary resources, and practice guideline, systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Every chapter includes self-assessment questions; answers are located at the back of the book.

Your guide to research and evidence-based practice This classic text explains the hows and whys of conducting and writing a research project.

Ideal for clinical students including medical, nursing, pharmacy, dental, physician assistant and more! Evidence-based information plays a critical role in clinical practice decisions. Secondary sources are often unreliable; it's up to the student, then, to critically assess peer-reviewed research literature. Using a highly structured yet accessible method, this best-selling text teaches students to critically analyze research from primary sources. Step-by-step approach- learn to recognize a meaningful study, clues to potential study flaws, and ways to apply solid evidence in clinical practice Simple 6-point framework- learn to evaluate studies in terms of the author's trademark mnemonic device, M.A.A.R.I.E. (Methods, Assignment, Assessment, Results, Interpretation and Extrapolation) Unique Learning Aids - question checklists, real-world scenarios, flaw-catching exercises and more help to make complex concepts easy to grasp New! New chapters cover safety, prediction and decision rules, and translating research into practice "Learn More" boxes illustrate key concepts Clinically oriented "Mini-Studies" demonstrate what can go wrong and how to get it right Research topics include ethics, the role of Institutional Review Boards (IRBs), and advances in randomized controlled trials and observational studies FREE Online Support! (with the purchase of the book) For Students: Interactive Q&A for every chapter M.A.A.R.I.E. framework and flaw-catching exercises Chapter objectives Flash Card interactive glossary For Faculty: All of the student resources plus: Instructor's guide with "tips on teaching" based on Dr. Riegelman's 30+ years of teaching from the text Syllabus suggestions for applying the text in semester-long courses, mini-courses, and as part of Journal Clubs Powerpoints designed to assist lectures Class-tested exam questions for each chapter

This book focuses on enabling students to understand what research is, why it is relevant in healthcare and how it should be applied in practice. It takes the reader step by step through the research process, from choosing research questions through to searching the literature, analysing findings and presenting the final piece of work. Key features of the book are: Tips for the best practice when reading and critiquing research. Activities to test your knowledge. Key points which highlight the important topics. A companion website which includes a critical appraisal tool to use when assessing papers, multiple choice questions and free SAGE journal articles for students. Seminar plans and PowerPoint slides are provided to support lecturers in their teaching. It is essential reading for all undergraduate students of nursing, midwifery and healthcare.

FACILITATES WRITING SUCCESSFUL PROPOSALS OF SUBSTANCE, CLARITY, AND CONVICTION With an in-depth focus on writing with substance, clarity, and conviction, this comprehensive resource takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing and submitting a successful proposal. Written by preeminent authors and educators with extensive experience in teaching proposal and grant writing to nurses and other health care professionals, the book discusses how to create proposals for dissertations, capstone projects, research funding, fellowships, and career development awards, as well as for educational training, translational research, evidence-based practice, and demonstration projects. Using a clear, commonsense approach, it delineates the foundations and underlying structure of a well-written proposal and then focuses on the specific elements required for each different type of proposal. The book provides readers with the tools to help them think through what they want to do and describe it clearly and succinctly√>=avoiding unnecessary information that does not support the intent of their proposal. It discusses selecting a problem, developing an argument, and describing the aims of the project; showing the significance of the problem and describing the conceptualization and innovative aspects of the work; detailing the approach or research design and methods; composing the title and abstract; describing budgetary considerations; and preparing ancillary materials. The book also includes worksheets to help readers personalize the information for their particular project. Instructions on how to synthesize the relevant literature for a study is presented in helpful case examples. The book also addresses the processes of writing and submitting a grant, its review, and possible resubmission. It will be highly useful as a text in master's-level, DNP, and PhD research courses; doctoral seminars, for instructors who advise students on proposal development; and for practitioners who are interested in developing evidence-based practice. KEY FEATURES: Provides abundant tools for writing proposals of substance, clarity, and conviction Takes readers step by step through the process of writing a great variety of proposals Facilitates clear thinking and to-the-point writing Includes worksheets to help readers personalize information for their particular project Provides formats required for all federal grant proposals About the Authors: Sandra G. Funk, PhD, FAAN, is a professor emerita of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has taught research methods, statistics, and grant writing to master's and doctoral students, postdoctoral fellows, visiting scholars, and faculty, and co-teaches with Elizabeth M. Tornquist a program on grant writing. As associate dean for Research and director of the Research Support Center for many years, Dr. Funk led the school's research mission and mentored faculty on design, measurement, proposal development, and research management. She also consults with other universities in these areas. She has served as principal investigator or co-investigator on over $6 million in research funding and served as a reviewer for the National Institutes of Health and other federal agencies for over a decade. Her research interests, grants, and publications, which number over 100, focus on various aspects of applied measurement and research utilization and facilitation. Elizabeth M. Tornquist, MA, FAAN, has been a faculty member of the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and is currently a visiting lecturer at the College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She has taught scientific writing for nearly 40 years and has conducted numerous workshops for university faculty, health

Academic Writing introduces core concepts used across a variety of disciplines in order to help students recognize patterns that appear in all academic reading and writing situations.