Skip to Main Content
Physician Assistant
Information Resources
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library, owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Proquest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis database includes journals and magazines covering range of health subjects.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.
- Anatomy TV powered by Primal Pictures This link opens in a new windowThis popular and versatile digital resource, featuring an interactive 3D skeleton, brings functional anatomy to life using accurate 3D anatomy and animation. Interactive functions allow you to rotate the 3D models through 360 degrees and add or remove layers of anatomy to view and label any visible structure with ease.
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO Publishing)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowThe largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- ERIC (EBSCO)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than one million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database about behavioral measurement instruments.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
Databases
- Access MedicineAccess the latest editions of hundreds of leading medical textbooks, examination and procedural videos, board review notes, and animations
- Anatomy TV powered by Primal Pictures This link opens in a new windowThis popular and versatile digital resource, featuring an interactive 3D skeleton, brings functional anatomy to life using accurate 3D anatomy and animation. Interactive functions allow you to rotate the 3D models through 360 degrees and add or remove layers of anatomy to view and label any visible structure with ease.
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide features head-to-toe and systems physical exam, communication skills, and OSCE clinical skills videos.
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationBates’ Visual Guide features head-to-toe and systems physical exam, communication skills, and OSCE clinical skills videos.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library, owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO Publishing)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowThe largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
Other Multi-disciplinary databases with useful content
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.
- SAGE Journals Online (full text available 1999- current) This link opens in a new windowSage Journals Online is a searchable platform that includes the full text of over 400 journals in the Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering and Social Sciences & Humanities
- Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowOxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. It publishes well over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides background information from 4000 academic reference sources and allows users to create mindmaps for research topics. Access this link https://library.shu.edu/credo-reference to view 200+ ebook titles.
- Ebrary ebooks (Now ProQuest Ebook Central) This link opens in a new windowebrary has merged with EBL and become Ebook Central! Please see Ebook Central for more information about this collection.