Quantitative and Qualitative Research

Data for Nurses: Understanding and Using Data to Optimize Care Delivery in Hospitals and Health Systems provides information for nurses on how to work with data to effectively evaluate and improve care delivery for patients. Quality, benchmarking, and research data are increasingly used to guide care in hospitals and health systems, and nurses are expected to actively use this information to identify interventions to optimize outcomes and meet reporting and financial targets. However, not all nurses receive formal training on data utilization, making interpretation and application of the different types of data difficult. This book provides information on topics such as benchmarking and reportable indicators, financial metrics, quality improvement, research, and implementation science, with applications to nursing practice. Important information on protective measures to guarantee integrity and security of personal patient data is also included. The book is a valuable resource for nurses and other healthcare professionals who require a basic understanding of key principles of data utilization in order to increase engagement in evidence-based practices, quality improvement, and mandatory reporting of key indices. Explains the differences between research data and quality improvement data Provides examples of project design, data usage, data storage and data dissemination Presents tables and figures that highlight mandatory reporting and how to correctly interpret and track information when making decisions about care delivery

This book is a practical guide for residents and young researchers who are planning to embark on research. It details the significant planning one must first do including choosing a suitable experienced clinician as a supervisor, sourcing for a 'winning idea' with significant clinical impact, performing a proper review of literature, defining clearly the objectives to be set and adopting the appropriate methodology. Statistical evaluation must be done from the start of the research to define adequate sample size and also for evaluation of the results. It also advises how one should draw upon relevant and appropriate conclusions from the results obtained.The ethics of research is also discussed. An all-important factor in research is the procurement of research grants. Readers are guided how to write a proper research proposal to secure these much needed grants.Many research papers end up as presentations only in local or international conferences. An important additional objective of this book is to guide young researchers how to write their finished product -- as a publication in an important international, refereed journal or as a thesis. Chapters have been specially written with tips for scientific writing, selecting the right journal, writing for an original article for a journal, a review article, a case report as well as for a thesis. Tips are also written on what reviewers of a journal look for in an article as well as what examiners look for in a thesis.

A Gentle Guide to Research Methods explains what research is, and guides you through choosing and using the method best suited to your needs, with detailed examples from a wide range of disciplines. It also gives you practical 'nuts and bolts' advice about how to avoid classic problems and how to get the most out of your project. Written by well-known research methods authors Gordon Rugg and Marian Petre, this is the ideal guide for anyone about to undertake a research project.

Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fourth Edition introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. The text helps students understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. By linking evidence-based practice to recent research in safety and quality programs, it provides timely information in both healthcare and nursing settings.

Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice   Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.

Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.

Learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research data and how to conduct your own original research. This authoritative text gives provides a comprehensive foundation for appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. This new edition also features enhanced coverage of the research methods most applicable to evidence-based practice (outcomes research, intervention research, and translational research), along with a significant increase in the coverage of qualitative research methodologies. Comprehensive coverage of nursing research organizes content into five units: Introduction to Nursing Research, Nursing Research Processes, Tools for Evidence-Based Healthcare, Strategies for Analyzing Research and Building an Evidence-Based Practice, and Writing Proposals and Obtaining Funding. Rich and frequent examples from the literature demonstrate the importance and immediacy of research in nursing practice and bring principles to life through the context of actual published studies. Strong coverage of quantitative and other clinically-applicable research methodologies gives you a solid grounding to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of clinical practice in today's healthcare environment. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on evidence-based practice equips you to generate research evidence and to appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Using the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program criteria as a point of focus, this book prepares you for today's emphasis on evidence-based practice in the clinical setting. NEW! Expanded emphasis on qualitative research addresses phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, exploratory-descriptive research, and historical research to support the development of nursing. NEW! Updated coverage of digital data collection guides you through use of the internet for research and addresses the unique considerations surrounding digital data collection methods. NEW! Pageburst ebook study guide gives you the opportunity to fully master and apply the text content in a convenient electronic format with integrated interactive review questions.

A previous AJN Book-of-the-Year Award winner, Burns & Grove''s The Practice of Nursing Research: Appraisal, Synthesis, and Generation of Evidence, 9th Edition is the trusted resource for those wanting to master the research methods that are foundational to evidence-based practice. This highly respected textbook covers how to appraise and apply existing research evidence, as well as how to participate in research and quality improvement projects. This new 9th edition has been extensively updated to reflect today''s focus on online research in the digital era and includes clear, step-by-step guidelines for all major quantitative and qualitative research approaches - including supporting examples from the latest high-quality literature. There''s also new content on translational research, coverage of the most current research tools and techniques, and an increased use of illustrations, tables, and other visuals to help engage visually oriented readers of all levels. Coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and other research methodologies provides a solid foundation to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of today''s clinical practice. Balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative methods addresses the qualitative research methodologies that are often the starting point of research projects, particularly in magnet hospitals and DNP programs. Clear, comprehensive coverage is organized into five units that include: an introduction to nursing research; coverage of the research process; application for evidence-based health care; how to analyze data, determine outcomes, and disseminate research; and how to propose and seek funding for research. Strong emphasis on evidence-based practice addresses this key graduate-level QSEN competency and reinforces how to generate research evidence and appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Rich examples from nursing literature bring research principles to life. Emphasis on the most currently used research methodologies focuses on the methods used in both quantitative research and qualitative research, as well as outcomes research and mixed-methods research. Coverage of digital data collection examines the use of online research tools. Quick-reference summaries include a table of research methods inside the front cover and a list of types of research syntheses (with definitions) inside the back cover. Helpful user resources are included with each new text purchase on the companion Evolve website and feature 400 interactive review questions along with a library of 10 full-text research articles. NEW! Extensively updated content reflects the most current quantitative and qualitative approaches to nursing research, as well as the most current research tools and techniques used in the digital era. NEW! Updated research examples throughout incorporate the best examples of current literature, with increased emphasis on international examples to reflect the increasingly global nature of nursing research. NEW! Increased use of visuals includes the addition of more illustrations, tables, and boxes to help break up long passages of text for today''s more visually oriented learners of all levels. NEW! Revised chapters offer improved clarity and usability in the areas of research problems and purpose, quantitative research design, quantitative methodology, and qualitative methodology. NEW! Increased emphasis on hospital magnet status reflects the effect this status has on improving nursing competency and quality outcomes. UPDATED! Coverage of certain qualitative research content has been de-emphasized to reflect the decreased use of certain methodologies (e.g., historical research) and to allow the introduction of additional methodologies that are growing in use.

What is the evidence? How do you find it? How do you evaluate it? Put the evidence to work in your practice! Integrate today's best scientific knowledge into your clinical decision-making. Step by step, you'll learn to effectively evaluate and apply nursing research and to understand its potential impact on the quality of your patient care. Easy to read."Great book, easy to read, very good review of research for beginners, lots of information but goes over a lot, definitely a keeper!"--Online Reviewer