Skip to main content

Art & Art History

About Web Resources

   Here you will find links to an array of resources available on the web.  Most are free, although some require registration and/or offer additional resources for a price. 
   I encourage you to provide feedback or share web sites that you have discovered and found useful.
   A good place to begin your research is in the Digital Public Library of America , which contains images of items ranging from Adversiting to portraits, archaeology, to the United States. The images come from libraries, archives, and museums.

Design Databases

Finding people and galleries

This site lists art galleries by type and genre, art distributors and publishers

Art Images

Artcyclopedia:  http://www.artcyclopedia.com/general/alphabetic.html In an attempt to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet, Artcyclopedia provides a comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. As of March 2000, the site links to 700 leading arts sites and offers more than 24,000 links directly to approximately 80,000 works by 7000 artists.
 
 
Thinker Imagebase:   The ImageBase is a searchable image and text database from the collections of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco. There are more than 110,000 items in the collection.

Architecture

Architecture: Great Buildings Online:
"Use this directory to find facts, statistics, and photos for all types of buildings and structures by name, building type, historic period, location, or designer: skyscrapers, towers, castles, bridges, cathedrals, historic houses, and more." [description from website]
 
Images of great buildings from Google images.

Art History

SMartt History . A "free and open on-line textbook" devoted to art history. This site uses multimedia to explain and describe works of art and to deliver unscripted discussions between art historians about various subjects in art.
Art History Research Center:  Established in 1995, the AHRC is a comprehensive source for art historical research on the Internet. It provides links to search engines, newsgroups, library catalogues and bookstores, article indexes, universities with art-history curricula, and information on citing sources.
 
Art History Resources Maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History, Sweet Briar College, VA, this comprehensive site links to art information, both Western and Non-Western. Some categories include: art from Prehistoric, Ancient, Baroque, Renaissance, to the 20th century. There are also links to research resources, museums and galleries, prints, and photographs on the Web.
 
Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History This site is indexed by subject, special topic, and artist. It also contains useful links, such as the Cloisters, Arms and Armor, Islamic Art and a bibliography organized by topic.

General Art Resources

Mother of All Art and Art History Links Page:  A thorough index to art resources, this is a gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. “

The Vincent van Gogh Gallery 
Created by David Brooks, this online catalog raisonee contains images of van Gogh's artworks, letter sketches, complete letters, references to film and other media, archives, and links. Paintings may be found by subject matter or chronologically. Images may be viewed in standard or thumbnail versions.

Timeline of Art History "This timeline features art history through 1600 A.D. The Timeline allows visitors to compare the cultures of peoples around the world beginning in prehistoric times. Explore Roman territories, trade routes, Celtic Gaul, Britain, Pannonia, the Nabatae ..."

Art History Resources on the Web A comprehensive collection of resources organized by genre and date. Some links tend to be  broken, but in general an excellent overview of art history.

Web gallery of art:    "is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 35.100 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue.

Art E-Commerce

Artnet.com:This site is an Internet portal to the world of art. It is a premier site on the web for art content and e-commerce. It provides online auctions, member gallery and artist sites, magazine, bookstore, art research tools and resources. Artnet.com AG is a public company traded on Germany's Neuer Markt.

Novica.com:  This site provides access to works by artisans from countries around the world, allowing its customers to buy directly from the artist. Such items include: carvings, paintings, rugs, scarves, decorated pottery and decorative plates.  

The Artists Bluebook: This site claims to be the most comprehensive database dedicated to American Artists. Images and information on books, articles, museum holdings, auction records, graphical sales analyses, and more, are dedicated to each of the 25,000 artists spanning the 16th to the 21st centuries. The images are included for commercial purposes. They are useful for identifying artists' works, but are only of fair quality.

Login to LibApps