Skip to main content

Music resources

A Sampling of Special Interest Pages

The J.S. Bach homepage:/ This award-winning site contains information on Bach’s life and works, recordings, record reviews, portraits, and more.

Baroque

 Baroque Music Homepage:
This site includes portraits and brief biographies of Baroque composers, samples of Baroque music, and information about various Baroque instruments and available CDs.

Mozart

 Neue Mozart Ausgabe:This is a database of Mozart sources.This database lists information about all of Mozart's compositions. Compositions, autographs, and sketches, and compositions in various countries are searchable by Kochel number. The site also links to other information about Mozart that can be found on the Web.

The Mozart Project: This fairly comprehensive site is devoted to the "life, times, and music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart." Its author, Steve Boerner, includes an extensive biography, a bibliography, a list of Mozart's compositions, arranged according to Koechel number, selected essays, and links to other Mozart sites.  

Music Selection

Music Selection Resources on the Web:. This site includes independent label listings, reviews, music publishers, library catalogs, jazz, classical, and world music reference sites on the Web.

Blues Music

Blues World: This site links to information on specific blues artitst, blues discographies, bibliographies, record companies, and commercial blues websites.

Delta Blues:  a discussion group devoted to lovers of blues and folk music.

Delta Blues Museum Founded in 1979, this museum ifs located where the blues began, in Clarksdale Mississippi, "just 90 minutes south of Memphis

Classical

Classical MIDI Archives: Use this site to listen to your favorite classical piece composed by one of more than 716 composers. Selections are rated.

 

Classical Music on the Net:This site includes reviews of more than 1000 CDs, 4800 files, and 2600 links to other classical web sites.

 

 

DW3 Classical Music Resources::The world’s most comprehensive collection of classical music links.”

 

 

The Classical Music Navigator:Compiled by Dr. Charles Smith, this "service" is based on "points of familiarity" which are designed to facilitate conceptual searching. This is organized in five sections: a master composer list, glossary, index of forms and styles, a basic library of notable works, and a geographical roster, which allows for searching by country. The site includes links to other sites that focus on Western classical music.

 

Music History

Indiana University Music Library:/ Indiana University School of Music link to worldwide internet music resources

 

Music Library Reference Desk: Internet Resources:  This is a comprehensive collection of websites on many aspects of music, music history, and music literature. Copyright, careers, dissertations, dictionaries, databases, classification, film, medicine, education, catalogs, theory, awards, and various genres are but a few of the many topics covered.

 

 

Smithsonian Institution Music Room: This site offers information on musical programs at the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, on its collections of instruments and much more. It also features special web pages devoted to the history and use of particular musical instruments. 

 

Music Theory

Ricci Adams' Musictheory.net: A multimedia learning experience where one can find definitions, lessons, and exercises in order to learn about different aspects of music theory. One can also find a chord calculator, staff paper, and a matrix generator.

Musical Theatre

Musicals 101:The cyber encyclopedia of musical theater, TV, and film.

Religious Music

The Cyberhymnal:This site presents lyrics, scores, MIDI files, and other media related to more than 4,700 Gospel songs and Christian hymns.

Americana

The American Memory Collection: American Folklife Center, the Library of Congress. Search by song text, audio titles, performers, archive of folksong.  

Center for Black Music Research Library and Archives: "The Library and Archives of the Center for Black Music Research is a comprehensive research collection covering all idioms in black music of the United States and the African diaspora. Collections include books, periodicals, sound recordings in several formats, printed music, photographs and videotapes, manuscripts and archival materials, and a comprehensive collection of theses and dissertations on black music." (CBMR)

Smithsonian National Museum of American History Music Collections:Take a virtual tour into the collections of the museum's more than 5000 musical instruments, multitudes of costumes, oral histories, recordings, collections of handwritten music, and more.

UCLA Digital Archive of Popular American Music:The UCLA Library offers "American popular songs in the form in which they were originally published." The site also provides links to other sheet music collections.

 

Comprehensive Music Resources

Digital Librarian Music Page:The most complete listing of web resources imaginable. Take a look at this website and enjoy!

IMSLP: The Petrucci Music Library.  This site provides full scores of music in the public domain.

General Information on Music

MLA Clearinghouse: This clearinghouse prepared by the Music Library Association stores documents of interest to music librarians, including copyright, cataloging, technology, and reference.

Sibelius Academy Music Resources: This is a comprehensive website produced in Finland. Links to such topics as Music Catalogs, Church music, Composing, Computer Music, Folk, Jazz, Blues, Rock, Opera, and Music theory and Research appear on this site, as well as information on Music Competitions.

Sheet Music

Historic American Sheet Music:This website, produced by the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provides 3042 digitized images of American Sheet Music published between 1850 and 1920. 

Pepper Music Network: “The worlds largest sheet music retailer.”

Sheet Music online: This site is a compendium of hundreds of sheet music sources, including recommended music. piano benches, music supplies, and free educational downloads. One can order music organized into a variety of databases, such as fake books, piano technique, jazz play along series, Henle urtext editions, guitar, vocal, transcriptions, and many other genres. It offers free downloads of music in the public domain and other sources for a small fee. The site is the "most comprehensive page on the Internet for intermediate to advanced Jazz Piano." It is also considered a "super dealer" of music resources.

Music Scores

Online Music Scores:  This site presents a collection of downloadable music scores in a variety of genres and formats. It includes iconographic sources, general collections facsimiles, collections of early music, and sources arranged according to individual composers.

Help in Finding Books

Stop by the Circulation Desk or the Reference Desk library maps

Music Education

Login to LibApps