Skip to Main Content
Seton Hall University

How do I .....?: How Do I?

This guide gives an introduction the library's collections and services.

How Do I?

Access  databases from off campus?  

 

Follow these step-by-step instructions:

  • Go to the Library Web Page 
  • Most databases can be accessed with your SHU email user name and password 
  • Go to Databases  
  • Click the drop down arrow next to topical 
  • Select subject  
  • Databases displayed will relate to your subject 
  • Once you select a database you will be prompted for your username and password 

Note:

1. Generally your email id is the first six letters of your last name and the first two letters of your first name, your password is your social security number without dashes. Contact your degree program administrator if you have problems with your email id and password.

      2. Your user name is not your full email address.  Example Robert Smitty

 

          Yes         smittyro
          No        smittyro @ shu.edu   

 Locate full-text of journal articles in an online database?    

Many journal articles are available in full-text through select online databases. To access these databases, follow the link to Full Text Electronic Journal Holdings. To locate a particular journal title, you may search alphabetically or choose  “Journal Titles Starting with Numbers”. Upon selection of your title, you will see the period of availability for full-text articles. You may then link directly to the holding database. Some databases will allow you to come in by using your SHU email user name and password. Others require a unique password. For detailed instructions on accessing online databases, see instructions above “How to Access Databases from Off-Campus.”  

Obtain  journal articles not available from a full-text database?   

 

Please contact the Client Services Librarian at 973-275-2059 or email Christopher Lee at leechria@shu.edu Please tell him where you live and supply her with both the article and the journal title, including volume, month, and year, that you need. She will try to locate the material and get it to you.  If the library does not own the material, we will locate the library closest to you with the material.  Please identify the SWW program you are enrolled in, detailed information on the topic you are researching and which databases you have searched.  

Access electronic reserves?   

  1. Go to the Library Homepage http://www.shu.edu/academics/libraries/  
  2. Click on E-Reserve under Electronic Resources.
  3. Click on Catalog for Electronic Reserve
  4. Search by instructor, department or course number.
  5. You will see a list of reserve articles.
  6. Click on the article you would like to read.
  7. If you see "E-Items: Full-text version online. Requires SHU E-mail ID / password and Adobe Reader," the article is available full-text online.
  8. All laptops issued by SHU have Adobe Acrobat Reader. If your computer does not have this software, call the PC Support Services Help Desk at 973-275-2222 for assistance with downloading and installing it.
  9. Access to electronic reserves is restricted to SHU faculty and staff and students. You will be prompted for your e-mail ID and password.
  10. You may read the article online or print it out.
  11. Users may make one copy for private study or personal research or education.
  12. If you don't see the statement in #7, it means that the article is not available online. If the material is not listed, contact your professor.
  13. Questions or problems with accessing electronic reserves? Contact the Circulation Desk, 973-761-9435.

Borrow materials both on-site and off-site?

 

  • You may have to come to the Seton Hall Library to check out books located in our collections. You may wish to find out about library privileges closer to home. Many libraries, both public and academic, allow visitors to use books, journals and other materials in the library and/or make copies of them. Your local public library is a good place to start. You may want to inquire about visitor policies at college and university libraries in your area. Borrowing privileges may be free through local cooperative library agreements or by paying a monthly or annual fee.             
  • For graduate students and faculty through the Vale resource sharing agreement you can access and have borrowing privileges at many universities and colleges throughout the state.
  • Interlibrary Loan is a service that allows you to request books and journal articles that the Library doesn't own. This can be done online by filling out an interlibrary loan form. Most journal articles are sent electronically to your email. (Note** All ILL book request first go through E-zborrow)
  • All library user are encouraged to take advantage of the E-Zborrow system. E-Zborrow is consortia borrowing at its best.  EZ-Borrow is PALCI's (Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium, Inc.) web gateway that allows simultaneous searching of academic library catalogs of the Consortium. The consortium contains several library’s outside of Pennsylvania.  Seton Hall University Library is a part of this 60+ libraries consortium. Many items found in PALCI can be directly requested by Seton Hall University users. Think of it as an extended circulation.                                

 

Get help:

  • Reference Desk 973-761-9437 or Ask a Librarian For help accessing or using Worldcat Local or any online database, getting started on research, formulating search strategies, or any research question
  • Research advice and assistance in specific subject areas, check the list of  Librarian Liaisons to Academic Departments for the phone number and email address of the appropriate librarian
  • Information Technology Help Desk 973-275-2222 Problems with Email ID and password, or other technical issues

 

400 South Orange Avenue; South Orange, NJ 07079-2671
973-761-9435 Telephone; 973-761-9432 Fax

 

Updated on 06/08/09