One of the most well-known and relied-upon reference works of all time has been updated and revised The twelve volumes of the revised "Butler's Lives of the Saints" correspond to the months of the year; each volume contains entries on saints with feast days in that month.
The years 1987 and 1990 saw the publication of two unprecedented and immediately popular reference works, "The New Dictionary of Theology" and "The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship." The present work, "The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality," edited by Michael Downey, is intended as a companion to these, with a parallel aim and purpose. The "NDCS" is a collaborative attempt to take stock of the remarkable developments in the Church and the world since the Second Vatican Council, but with a specific focus on the reform and renewal of Catholic spirituality that the Council set in motion. The dictionary is intended to serve as a reliable theological and pastoral resource, not just for experts, but for al those interested in spirituality: teachers at al levels, writers, preachers, and students. In addition to the over 500 entries, the dictionary includes alphabetical and topical indices, cross-referencing, and running heads al in a durable binding. Entries include: "Prayer" by John H. Wright, SJ "Grace" by Roger Haight, SJ "Experience" by Tad Dunne "Praxis" by Rebecca S. Chopp "Sacraments "by David N. Power, OMI "Faith" by Mary Ann Fatula, OP "Hope" by Monika K. Hellwig "Love" by Elizabeth Dreyer "Virtue" by Paul J. Wadell, CP "Discernment of Spirits" by Michael J. Buckley, SJ "History of Christian Spirituality" by Richard Woods, OP"Western Medieval Spirituality" by Walter H. Principe, CSB "Feminist Spirituality" by Sandra M. Schneiders, IHM "Early Christian Spirituality" by Daniel J. Harrington, SJ "Patristic Spirituality "by David G. Hunter "Reformation and Catholic Reformation Spiritualties" by John W. O'Malley, SJ "Modern Spirituality" by Thomas F. McKenna, CM "Contemporary Spirituality "by James J. Bacik "Apostolic Spirituality" by Mary Milligan, RSHM "Benedictine Spirituality" by Terrence G. Kardong, OSB "Cistercian Spirituality" by Michael Casey, OCSO "Franciscan Spirituality" by Michael Blastic, OFM Conv "Dominican Spirituality" by Ronald J. Zawilla "Ignatian Spirituality" by Harvey D. Egan, SJ "Lay Spirituality" by Edward C. Sellner "Trinitarian Spirituality" by Catherine M. LaCugna and Michael Downey "Christian Spirituality" by Walter H. Principe, CSB
2008 Catholic Press Association Award Winner This magnificent new publication distinguishes itself from others by its comprehensiveness, and in its coverage of Eastern, as well as Western, saints. The book contains approximately 7, -000 Saints and Blesseds. Entries are placed in alphabetical order according to name. Where there are numerous saints with the same name (for example John) these are now listed chronologically. The entries include date and place of birth and death as well as family background, education, activity for which the saint is remembered, and whether he/she is a patron saint. In order to be comprehensive, even possibly mythical saints are included 'Barbara, Christopher and Katherine of Alexandria, because their stories have been so important in art, literature and popular devotion. This is the most complete and accurate Dictionary of Saints available.
This new volume, replacing The Westminster Dictionary of Spirituality by Gordon S. Wakefield (1983), stands as the definitive reference work on all aspects of Christian spirituality. Several years in the making and comprised of more than four hundred completely new entries, this volume incorporates the collective expertise of todays foremost scholars in the field of Christian spirituality. Systematically organized and alphabetically arranged for maximum ease of use, the book includes comprehensive bibliographies; a section of short essays on the content, methods, and current debates in the field; and reading lists to encourage additional reading and research.
Far more than a dry hagiographical account of the lives of saints, this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. First published in 1978, the Oxford Dictionary of Saints offers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world, from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated. From all walks of life and from all periods of history and from around the world, the wide varieties of personalities and achievements of the canonized are reflected. An updated introduction explains the steps towards becoming a saint, the processes of beatification and canonization. This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing five maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts, as well as a new appendix on pilgrimages.