The Collegeville Pastoral Dictionary of Biblical Theology brings to priests, other religious, teachers, and educated laity a deeper understanding of the Bible and its central place in the life of the Church. With more than 500 entries, this practical pastoral dictionary is the one resource you'll need for preaching and liturgy preparation, classroom teaching and learning, and Bible study and reflection.
This volume offers authoritative, easy-to-find information that will assist anyone engaged in the study or practice of pastoral care and counseling.More than 1200 state-of-the-art articles, prepared by experts in the field, cover virtually every topic related to pastoral care and counseling. The volume is ecumenical in its vision, enlisting the participation of nearly 600 Protestant, Catholic, Orthodox, and Jewish contributors.
Voted one of Christianity Today's 1996 Books of the Year!Especially in today's complicated world, moral practice and decision-making raise many hard questions. Dealing with those questions often requires wide-ranging understanding--in areas such as systematic and practical theology, psychology, economics, sociology and philosophy. For the first time, the New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology offers expert information and guidance across this range of disciplines--in a single volume.Besides hundreds of articles on specific issues, the Dictionary includes eighteen major keynote articles which provide a basic introduction to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology. These articles alone constitute a textbook of Christian ethics, excellently surveying that broad field.Written at a nontechnical and accessible level, this Dictionary will be consulted again and again by Christians from all walks of life.
The New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies is a major new reference work offering comprehensive discussion of the subjects of interest to anyone studying or involved in pastoral work. Written by a team of 212 international scholars and practitioners, this dictionary includes some 800 articles covering every subject touching on the field of pastoral studies. Carefully crafted from the pastoral perspective, each entry begins with a concise definition of the topic discussed, followed by an explanation of its importance in pastoral studies and suggestions for further reading. The New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies is intended to serve as an authoritative yet accessible sourcebook on the theology and methods of pastoral studies. The dictionary offers readers a solid grounding in the theoretical and practical issues relevant to pastoral care as well as related subjects in psychology and sociology. It also provides the background necessary for understanding any further reading, religious or secular, in this complex and ever-changing discipline. Written to have broad appeal and discussing issues that are of interest and applicable to all th