Skip to main content

Special Collections at Seton Hall University

Italian American Archival Collections

The Center collects materials that document the history and experience of Italians and Italian Americans in the United States, particularly in New Jersey and/or in the Catholic Church. The following is a partial list of archival collections in this area, and will be added to as more collections are processed. Clicking on the title of the collection will take you to the finding aid for this collection; unless otherwise indicated, materials in these collections are not digitally available.

 

  • Ace Alagna photographic collection, 1944-1998, Mss 0018
    Ace Alagna was a photographer, editor and publisher of the Italian Tribune, and prominent member of the Italian American community in Newark, NJ. The Ace Alagna photographs consist of photographic negatives, prints, videos, and layout sheets from Ace Alagna's career as a photographer and as editor and owner of the newspaper the Italian Tribune.
    40 linear feet, approximately 40,000 items.
  • Archdiocese of Newark Church reports, 1843-1925, ADN 0010.001
    The Diocese of Newark was created in 1853 and was elevated to an Archdiocese in 1937. The Chancery Office required parish priests to submit yearly reports reflecting the financial and spiritual condition of their churches. The Diocese of Newark Church reports include the annual reports of parish priests to the Chancery Office from 1843-1925, which themselves include information on population and sacramental statistics.
    20.0 Linear feet, Approximately 6,000 items.
  • Archdiocese of Newark Parish records, 1856-2012, ADN 0010.005
    The Archdiocese of Newark has 221 parishes. The Archdiocese of Newark Parish records include correspondence, parish histories, parish reports, brochures, and other materials documenting the activities of the parishes and their parishioners. Parishes that have closed have also sent their sacramental records to the Archives. For more information on sacramental records, please see our homepage. Types of records vary across parishes, and there is material from parishes outside the Archdiocese, as well.
    Approximately 100 linear feet.
  • Milano Lardiere family photographs, 1930-1970, Mss 0068
    The Milano Lardiere family immigrated to New Jersey from Itlay in the late 19th or early 20th century. The family lived in Belleville, N.J. Angelina, Filomena, and Josephine Lardiere were sisters born in the early 20th century. The Milano Lardiere family photographs primarily consists of snapshots and photographs of members of the Lardiere family, as well as photographs of the Milano family, landscapes and scenery, and some objects belonging to Angelina Lardiere.
  • Louis Sonntag military logbook, 1855-1876, (bulk 1855), Mss 0033
    Louis (or Aloisio) Sonntag lived in the 19th century and was likely a member of the Papal Zouaves, the military force of the Papal States. The Louis Sonntag military logbook is a single volume that appears to chronicle information about a Papal State regiment abroad, written in German, Italian, French, and English.
    1 item, approximately 45 pages.
  • Winand Wigger papers, 1864-1919, ADN 0002.003
    Papers and records of Bishop Winand Wigger from his time as Bishop in the Diocese of Newark, New Jersey.
    34.5 Linear feet , 74 boxes/containers

Rosary S. Gilheany collection

The Rosary S. Gilheany collection consists mainly of early twentieth century books relating to Italian travel and history. It also contains a number of souvenir pamphlets full of photographs of Italian landmarks. 

Login to LibApps