Skip to Main Content
LIBRARY ORIENTATION SMITH: Home
Need Research Help?
HOW TO USE INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Request a book or journal article from another library Interlibrary loan is a service that allows you to request books, journal articles and other circulating materials from academic and research libraries. SHU University Libraries belongs to two consortia, OCLC and PALCI. We use OLC for our journal requests and PALCI for most book requests. What does this mean for you?
Happily our book and article requests are now combined on one single page.
- You will first need to select whether you are looking for a book or an article.
- The "BOOK" option will take you to EZ Borrow (Palci), which you log in to using the number on the back of your SHU ID.
- The "ARTICLE" option will take you to our new Interlibrary loan Service ILLiad, which you access through your PirateNet ID and password. The first time you use it, you will need to create an account. Once you have created an account, you can use the "LinkSource" button on many databases to automatically populate the request form.
Research Starters
RECOMMENDED DATABASES
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Companions Online offers subject or theme based collections in a searchable online environment. The Companions are available as a Complete Collection; Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Publishing)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowOffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
- ProQuest Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new windowCurrent resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
E-Bookshelf
The Cambridge Companion to Blues and Gospel Music by ISBN: 9780521001076Publication Date: 2003-03-13
Live Theory by ISBN: 9781441162793Publication Date: 2006-07-10An introductory guide to the work of Judith Butler, a major contemporary theorist, this title includes a new interview with Butler.
Music in the Social and Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 9781452283029Publication Date: 2014-08-13This definitive reference resource examines how music affects human beings and their interactions in and with the world.
