Skip to Main Content
Business Writing
Company Research
You can start with exploring a company's website. Often scrolling to the bottom and clicking on "About Us" or "Investor Relations" is a good starting point. Keep in mind that the company publishes this information so there is a potential for bias. Meaning that unfavorable news might not be reported or reported with a positive spin. To get a more comprehensive viewpoint it is important to consult several sources, including the databases below.
Tips & Tricks:
If a company is owned by another company, check the parent company's website.
Examples:
- Google and YouTube are owned by Alphabet
- Audi is part of Volkswagen Group
International companies might have regional websites:
Example:
- Volkswagen has an Americas website
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc.
- SEC’s Edgar OnlineThe Security & Exchange Commission's database, EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval), provides free access to 10-Ks, 10-Qs, proxies, prospectuses and other documents.
- ValueLine Investment Survey This link opens in a new windowThe Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. For each stock it offers one to five years probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.