Skip to Main Content
Doctorate of Nursing Practice (DNP) Resources
IHS Book Holdings
Advanced Practice Nursing by ISBN: 9781284072570Publication Date: 2015-03-23
Clinical Guidelines for Advanced Practice Nursing by ISBN: 9780763774141Publication Date: 2011-10-03
Health Care System Transformation for Nursing and Health Care Leaders by ISBN: 9780826196439Publication Date: 2013
Community as Partner by ISBN: 9781605478555Publication Date: 2010
The Doctor of Nursing Practice by ISBN: 9781284066258Publication Date: 2015-02-24The Doctor of Nursing Practice: A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues, Third Edition is a comprehensive guidebook for role development of the DNP student. This text covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate. The Third Edition also addresses professional issues, such as the title of doctor, educating others about the degree, making the decision to pursue the DNP degree and marketing oneself as a DNP. The future of the DNP degree is also discussed. New Features: * New Chapter on the DNP graduate as information specialist * New Chapter on issues pertaining to the BSN to DNP track * Updated interviews with a focus on leadership
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP by
DNP students may struggle with data management, since their projects are not research, but quality improvement, and this book covers the subject well. I recommend it for DNP students for use during their capstone projects." Score: 98, 5 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews Strong data management knowledge and skills are a requirement for every DNP. This unique text focuses on fostering the rigorous, meticulous data management skills that can improve care experience, health outcomes, and cost savings worldwide. It provides a knowledge base, describes the regulatory and ethical context, outlines a process to guide evaluation, presents a compendium of resources, and includes examples of evaluation of translation. It takes the DNP student step by step through the complete process of data management, including planning, data collection, data governance and cleansing, analysis, and data presentation. Moreover, the text continues the process of establishing a sturdy clinical data management (CDM) skill base by presenting techniques for ongoing project monitoring after analysis and evaluation are concluded. A progressive case study illustrates multiple techniques throughout each chapter, enabling students to apply what they have learned to their own DNP projects. The book features information from professors who are highly experienced in teaching CDM as well as a renowned scholar of population health analytics. The text provides very specific examples of techniques using SPSS√ software that is familiar to graduate nursing students. Chapters include objectives, references, and examples from translation projects to assist students to learn and apply chapter content. Appendices describe numerous tools and practical strategies compiled by the authors over several years of teaching CDM to DNP students. Key Features: Meets the specific data management needs of the DNP student from planning to presentation Presents a wide selection of data display options through frequent illustrations of SPSS data Uses a progressive case study to illustrate multiple techniques and methods throughout chapters Provides substantial content necessary for the DNP student to rigorously evaluate DNP innovations/projects Includes very specific examples of the application and utility of these techniques using software that is familiar to graduate nursing students
ISBN: 9780826129734Publication Date: 2014
Financial and Business Management for the Doctor of Nursing Practice by
Finally, a definitive financial management book geared to nursing professionals who need to know health care finance in non-CPA terms. Dr. Waxman has organized excellent authors who are knowledgeable about their topic and address the issues using real-life examples that make sense to nursing professionals I am thrilled to see that] Dr. Waxman has used her knowledge and skills in producing a book that has been on my to-do list for years.-Roxanne Spitzer, PhD, MBA, RN, FAANEditor in Chief, Nurse LeaderNow more than ever, nurse leaders must be proficient in understanding the financial aspects of health care. This unique text, designed specifically for the DNP course in health care economics and finance, is the only book to embed economic and financial concepts in the context of nursing practice and nursing care systems. It offers a practical approach to business, finance, economics, and health policy that is designed to foster sound business and leadership skills within our complex health care system-skills that will enable the DNP graduate to improve the quality of health care delivery while reducing costs and improving outcomes.Key Topics Covered: Economics of health care Insurance coverage Reimbursement Policy Budgeting Strategic planning Quality Data analysis Ethics Entrepreneurship Marketing Business plan development Project management Grant writing Teaching financial management Global healthKey Features: Offers multiple real-life examples Examines the economic and financial implications of evidence-based practice and quality improvement by focusing on ambulatory and acute care clinical research and quality initiatives Enables students to understand the cost of care as it relates to the quality of care and ethics Includes special section on finance for independent practitioners Incorporates critical thinking questions for students at different levels Addresses the required competencies designated in the AACN Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice, as well as those set forth by the AON
ISBN: 9780826109484Publication Date: 2012- Health Care System Transformation for Nursing and Health Care Leaders by
The authors' approach to creating a transforming culture through use of foundations laid in the theoretical development of "Nursing As Caring" offers a solid foundation upon which to recalibrate and reconfigure toward a caring organizational health system. -Tim Porter-O'Grady, DM, EdD, APRN, FAAN, FACCWS Associate Professor, Leadership Scholar, College of Nursing and Healthcare Innovation, Arizona State University Clinical Professor, Leadership Scholar, College of Nursing, The Ohio State University This is a time-tested, practical guide for nurses and other healthcare professionals who wish to transform their healthcare systems based on caring values and the promotion of intra- and inter-professional dialogue among stakeholders. It describes a theoretically grounded model created by nurses for transforming the culture of healthcare systems at all levels, and features tested strategies that facilitate accessibility, efficiency, effectiveness, and enhanced outcomes. At its most basic level, this model, the Dance of Caring Persons, expresses the fundamental beliefs and attitudes that each person in the healthcare system lives caring meaningfully in unique and valuable ways, and the contributions of each person to the whole of the enterprise have a significant place within it. The book features successful examples of how various units of the healthcare system can apply specific strategies to their inter- and intra-professional work, and how to engage and sustain authentic dialogue among and between stakeholders. Chapters feature information from a great variety of health professionals that represent a broad range of participants in healthcare. Detailed information is presented in a variety of formats ranging from formal written responses to chapter contents to transcriptions of small group conversations relating to the topic at hand. The book reflects the interests of such major stakeholders as patients and families, nurses, physicians and other primary and adjunctive care providers, ancillary service providers, administrators and managers, and all other individuals involved in the many aspects of organizational models and delivery of health care and human resource functions and outcomes. Each chapter includes questions to consider and suggested resources to help with implementation of strategies. The text incorporates professional standards and essentials from the Joint Commission, ANCC, and AACN (DNP). Key Features: Presents a theoretically grounded, proven caring-based model for healthcare system change for all stakeholders across the continuum of care Provides practical strategies for transformation in all aspects of a healthcare system applicable across the range of health services Describes how healthcare system change happens, who initiates it, and how to sustain it through caring science Includes success stories from patients and their families, nurses, physicians, ancillary service providers, healthcare administrators, and others Promotes inter- and intra-professional dialogue and collaboration
ISBN: 9780826196439Publication Date: 2013
How - How To Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine by
The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
ISBN: 9781118801116Publication Date: 2014
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse by
Designed specifically for graduate-level nursing informatics courses, this text focuses on using technology with an interprofessional team to improvepatient care and safety. It delivers an expansive and innovative approach to devising practical methods of optimizing technology to foster quality ofpatient care and support population health initiatives. Based on the requirements of the DNP Essential IV Core Competency for Informatics and aligning withfederal policy health initiatives, including the Affordable Care Act, the book describes models of information technology the authors have successfullyused in health information technology (HIT) to reinforce core competencies needed in multiple practice settings. Data management and analytics areemphasized in the text, supporting clinical improvement as well as business aspects of the health care system. The authors espouse a hybrid approach toteaching with a merged competency and concept-based curriculum. With an emphasis on the benefits of an interprofessional team, the book describes the most effective approaches to health care delivery using healthinformation technology. It describes a nursing informatics model that is comprised of three core domains: point-of-care technology, data management andanalytics, and patient safety and quality. The final section of the text explores new and emerging technologies, including genomics, nanotechnology, artificial intelligence, data mining, expanded use of electronic measurements, and innovations in patient engagement in social media. Case studies andcritical thinking exercises support the concept-based curriculum and facilitate out-of-the-box thinking. Supplemental materials for instructors includePowerPoint slides and a test bank. While targeted primarily for the nursing arena, the text is also of value in medicine, health information management, occupational therapy, and physical therapy. KEY FEATURES: Addresses the DNP Essential IV Core Competency for Informatics Focuses specifically on using nursing informatics expertise to improve population health, quality, and safety Advocates an interprofessional team approach to optimizing health IT in all practice settings Stimulates critical thinking skills that can be applied to all aspects of IT health care delivery Discusses the newest approaches to interprofessional education for IT health care delivery Includes PowerPoint slides, a comprehensive test bank, and an instructor' s manual to help faculty with this challenging content, as well as a student study guide
ISBN: 9780826124883Publication Date: 2015
Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects by
While advanced practice nursing students generally have good clinical skills, many lack the clinical scholarship capabilities that are required for writing scholarly proposals. The only resource of its kind, this is a practical guide for MSN project students and DNP capstone students who must plan and organize their clinical projects into quality proposals. It provides the requisite guidelines for integrating research and best evidence with clearly communicated professional objectives. The book's "how-to" approach helps to demystify the organization and packaging of advanced practice clinical projects into tight proposals. The text includes an overview of basic scholarly approaches required for professional communication that support a diverse array of clinical project topics. Students interact with the content via ongoing prompts and questions that guide them in the kind of reflective writing that facilitates greater understanding of their projects and subsequent proposals. Chapters are organized into three broad sections with a logical flow toward completion of planning, writing, and communicating a project proposal. Each chapter is consistently organized to include objectives, tips for making proposals concise yet complete, and tools for self-assessment. Also included are key point summaries, reflective questions, and writing prompts. Additionally, the book provides plentiful checklists, five exercises that jump-start the process, examples of good writing, and additional resources for further study. Key Features: Provides topflight guidance in proposal writing for nursing capstones and clinical projects Details parameters for integrating scholarship with clearly communicated professional objectives Contains numerous writing prompts and questions that guide students in reflective scholarly writing Includes a project triangle framework, exercises to jump-start the process, examples of good writing, reflective questions, and tools for self-assessment Offers helpful tips for making proposals concise yet complete
ISBN: 9780826108630Publication Date: 2013
Writing for Publication in Nursing (3rd Edition) by
"Designated a Doody's Core Title " Praise for the Second Edition ""Provides helpful tips for all levels of writing and is a comprehensive, solid reference for any nurse who plans to write for publication."" --"BookEnds" ""Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, " ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆ --"Doody's" The ability to communicate in writing is an essential skill, particularly for nurses at the graduate level. This is a best-selling, comprehensive, and widely used resource on writing for nurse clinicians, faculty, researchers, and graduate students. It covers all kinds of writing that beginning and experienced nurse authors may be required or choose to undertake: journal articles, book chapters, and preparing manuscripts from course work. Brimming with helpful examples, the book takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing, from the generation of an idea through searching the nursing literature, preparing an outline, writing and revising a draft, and submitting the finished product for publication. In addition to being extensively updated, the third edition features new chapters on writing articles reporting quality improvement studies and on open-access publications. New writing samples have been added that illustrate how to present multiple types of research and writing for various types of journals and other venues. The book describes how to select an appropriate journal and gear the writing for the intended audience, submit a manuscript, and respond to reviewers. It provides strategies for searching bibliographic databases, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, and writing a literature review. Information is included on developing manuscripts from theses and dissertations, writing a paper with multiple authors, and when and how to include tables or figures. Ethical considerations are also addressed. FEATURED IN THE THIRD EDITION: Selecting the right journal for publication using web resources and moreSelecting and searching bibliographic databases for synthesizing literatureDeveloping literature reviews for target audiences of research versus clinical papersDisseminating research to researchers versus cliniciansWriting quality improvement reports and evidence-based practice articlesWriting papers for clinical journalsPublishing innovations in clinical practice and unit-based initiativesPublishing in open-access journals and important considerationsTurning capstone projects, theses, and dissertations into manuscriptsWorking with coauthors and student/faculty collaborationsResponding to peer reviewsAvoiding abuses of authorship and copyright issues Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, is the Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing and Director of Evaluation and Educational Research at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of 15 nursing education books and many articles on evaluation, teaching in nursing, and writing for publication. She is the editor of "Nurse Educator" and the "Journal of Nursing Care Quality." Dr. Oermann lectures widely on teaching and evaluation in nursing and on writing for publication. Judith C. Hays, PhD, RN, FGSA, is Associate Professor Emerita at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of a psychiatric epidemiology textbook and more than 70 scientific articles on late-life living arrangements, religiousness, depression, palliative care and bereavement, and nu
ISBN: 9780826119926Publication Date: 2015
Completing a Professional Practice Dissertation by
A growing number of both established and newly developed doctoral programs are focusing on the preparation of practitioners rather than career researchers. Professional doctorates such as the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), Doctor of Education (EdD), Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD), Doctor of Professional Studies (DProf or DPS), and the Doctor of Psychology (PsyD) are, in fact, just a few of the professional doctorates being offered today. Professional doctorates are the fastest growing segment of doctoral education. The nature of the dissertation and the process of completing a dissertation can be quite different in a professional practice doctoral program but there are few resources for both students and faculty involved in completing and mentoring such dissertations. This book was written specifically for students and faculty involved in professional practice dissertation work. It addresses both the tasks and procedures that professional practice dissertations have in common with dissertations in "research" doctoral programs as well as the tasks and issues that are more common in professional practice doctoral programs. For example, negotiating entry into applied settings and securing the cooperation of practicing professionals is covered, as are alternative models for the dissertation (e.g., the "three article dissertation" or "TAD"). The book also covers tasks such as getting IRB approval for applied dissertation research conducted in the field and how to propose and carry out studies based on applied and professional models of research. This book, written by three experienced mentors of professional practice dissertation students, is the comprehensive guide for both students and faculty.
ISBN: 9781607524397Publication Date: 2010
DNP Capstone Projects by
This unique book not only explains the introduction of the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) role but also bridges the DNP essentials with the evidence-based practice framework. It includes wonderful examples of exciting scholarship, but also illustrates how the evidence is then translated into clinical practice...This is a wonderful resource for students completing a DNP degree. It is an excellent book for expanding the understanding of the capstone project and the importance of dissemination of nursing knowledge to improve patient care and outcomes. Weighted Numerical Score: 100 - 5 Stars Kathleen Woodruff Doody's Medical Reviews With a unique focus on exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects, this book delivers key information on designing, constructing, and completing a high quality capstone project. It demonstrates the impact that a well-conceived capstone project can have on facilitating change and addresses all program, administrative, policy, and clinical issues that DNP students may encounter during the capstone process. The book examines a variety of capstone projects from across the U.S.--quality improvement projects, strategic plans, advocacy, clinical case narratives, and other innovations--that demonstrate efficacy in clinical nursing practice outcomes and positive impact upon the health care environment. The book analyzes the components of these exemplary capstones to demonstrate how each has provided leadership for change in practice, promoted interdisciplinary collaboration, contributed to advocacy and policy change, and enhanced quality improvement in health care systems. Key Features: Focuses on a wide range of exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects Provides a roadmap for excellence in creating capstone projects Analyzes components of capstones that have effected positive change Includes strategies for implementing evidence-based practices for nurses and other health care providers Highlights DNP leadership and resulting positive changes in clinical practice
ISBN: 9780826130259Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Scholarship and Analytical Methods for Advanced Nursing Practice by
This wonderful and informative resource provides a definitive base of information for those engaged in clinical inquiry. It not only presents the information in a systematic format, it also provides specific examples of projects that have been completed by advanced practice nurses." Score: 100, 5 Stars.√>=Doody's Medical Reviews Advanced nursing practitioners who conduct practice-based studies will welcome this innovative text designed specifically to meet their clinical inquiry and research needs. It is the only book to address the complexities of inquiry from a practice /project, rather than research, perspective. The text builds on research concepts learned in the undergraduate and beginning levels of graduate study that, combined with the vast amount of knowledge and experience gained by the APN student, facilitate movement to the next level of understanding how clinical research differs from traditional quantitative research. The book fosters the development of such skills as finding, reading, critiquing, and translating research for use in evidenced-based practice within the health care system, with a specific population, or for policy development. The foundation of the text is the Scholarship of Integration and Application, one of the core competencies of DNP education. Content is clearly organized to build from simple to greater complexity of information and each chapter features learning objectives, learning activities, review questions, and recommendations for additional reading. Key Features: Provides a practice guide for clinical inquiry and research used to demonstrate practice outcomes Written by a senior faculty highly experienced in teaching the clinical inquiry course Illustrates the application of 'Scholarship of Integration and Application' core competency Presents content systematically from simple to complex Clearly written and useful as a guide for DNP student program/project design and evaluation
ISBN: 9780826193872Publication Date: 2014
