Skip to Main Content
Evidence-Based Practice: Nursing
Databases for EBP
These databases are recommended for evidence-based information:
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library, owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).
- Trip This link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
For Nursing Students
These databases are the top used among nursing students who are conducting research
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library, owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO Publishing)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowThe largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.
- Proquest Health & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis database includes journals and magazines covering range of health subjects.
Dissertations & Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Seton Hall University This link opens in a new windowSeton Hall Dissertations and Theses in the ProQuest database
- Dissertations/Theses (SHU eRepository) This link opens in a new windoweRepository is a service offered by the Seton Hall University Libraries and Seton Hall Law to service the needs of the SHU community in the preservation and dissemination of scholarly works.
Additional Databases
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database about behavioral measurement instruments.
- ERIC (EBSCO)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than one million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
Accessing Library Resources Remotely
The IHS Library offers off-campus access to electronic resources, such as databases and e-journals, to current students, faculty, and staff.
When you want to access materials and library resources from off-campus via the IHS Library website, you will be prompted to sign-in with your current PirateNet ID (also referred to as your short ID, which is not the same as your email address) and password.
You should see this login screen:
Questions?
For help with your Piratenet ID, please contact the IT service desk at 973-275-2222. For help in accessing the library's e-resources from off-campus, please email ihslibrary@shu.edu.