Skip to Main Content
Evidence-Based Practice PT
Databases
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO Publishing)(A&I) This link opens in a new windowThe largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- APTA: Evidence-Based-Practice-ResourcesEvidence-based practice includes the integration of best available evidence, clinical expertise, and patient values and circumstances related to patient and client management, practice management, and health policy decision-making. These resources include: CPGs, Tests & Measures, Rehabilitation Center, Clinical Summaries, the PT Journal, etc.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library, owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).
- CPG+PTNow's CPG+ collection provides expert appraisal of the clinical practice guideline
- ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window(Creation of free account is required) ECRI Guidelines TrustTM is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date, clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
- National Rehabilitation Information CenterThe National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR.
- Nursing and Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new windowNursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new windowPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 40,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowPhysical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
- Trip This link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- Diagnostic Test Accuracy (DiTA)DiTA is the Diagnostic Test Accuracy database, a free database that indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice. DiTA has been designed to enable clinicians, researchers and patients to easily access information on the accuracy of diagnostic tests used by physiotherapists.
Additional Websites
- Centre for Reviews and Dissemination - University of York
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE): Reviews of evidence based medicine including abstracts of systematic reviews
- Health Information Research Unit (HIRU)
At the Health Information Research Unit (HIRU) we strive to provide actionable clinical information at the point of care to improve patient outcomes. From best evidence services to personalized medicine approaches, we harness information science and technology to build customized, high efficiency services.
- National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC()
National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) citations and abstracts of research articles and books on all aspects of rehabilitation
- PTNow
APTA maintained search engine of evidence-based physical therapy practice, including tests and measures, clinical summaries, clinical practice guidelines, and Cochrane Reviews; members only
- Anatomy TV powered by Primal Pictures This link opens in a new windowThis popular and versatile digital resource, featuring an interactive 3D skeleton, brings functional anatomy to life using accurate 3D anatomy and animation. Interactive functions allow you to rotate the 3D models through 360 degrees and add or remove layers of anatomy to view and label any visible structure with ease.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive bibliographic database about behavioral measurement instruments.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
- Chronicle of Higher Education, The This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is a source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.