Seton Hall University Libraries: Doctorate of Nursing Practice (DNP) Resources: Databases

University Libraries serving

School of Health and Medical Sciences

School of Medicine

College of Nursing

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library, owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley, is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).
Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, and multimedia on the subject.
Title: Health and Wellness Resource Center 1980+

Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases.

Subjects: Health Care Administration, Medicine/Nursing

Coverage: Full-Text/Abstract

Provider: Thomson Gale (VALE)
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on nursing and allied health as well as books, videos, dissertations, etc. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Provider: ProQuest (VALE)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed is maintained by U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) and is freely accessible to all Web users.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Credo Reference
Provides background information from over 4000 academic reference sources and create mindmaps for your research topic.
Ebrary ebooks (Now ProQuest Ebook Central)
ebrary has merged with EBL and become Ebook Central! Please see Ebook Central for more information about this collection.
Oxford Journals (WALDO)
Oxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. It publishes well over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
SAGE Journals Online (full text available 1999- current)
Sage Journals Online is a searchable platform that includes the full text of over 400 journals in the Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering and Social Sciences & Humanities
ScienceDirect
A fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.
Scopus
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

InfoTrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Nursing information from the Gale company. You can search by publication name, subject, or general topic.

more...

Doctorate of Nursing Practice (DNP) Resources

What is a Database?

Navigating a Database

Multi-disciplinary databases