Early American Literature: Starting your research (databases)

Includes full text of special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of literary authors from every period and discipline. Its resources cover more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with additional in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Focuses on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

Features thousands of annotated references and bibliographic citations on a wide-range of people, places, and specific events which had an impact on shaping world history.

ProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

JSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).

Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.

A multi-disciplinary database for academic institutions with peer-reviewed full-text journals across disciplines including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.