What does this guide contain?
Some Tips on Tests and Instruments:
Knowing your instrument: When you know the name of your instrument go to a database and look it up by its title.
Not knowing: If you don't know the name of an instrument trying referencing the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). This book will provide you with information on instrument titles and information on the instrument. (Please note the MMY is a reference book and can not be checked out of the IHS library)
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database is one way to find a particular test. You can search CINAHL by:
Research instruments can also be found using specific keywords such:
However, searching CINAHL by keywords is not the best way to locate instrument references. Below are some other strategies to use.
Other ways of conducting a search in CINAHL for tests include:
Advanced Search - (IN) Instrumentation
In the Advanced Search section of CINAHL use the drop down field menu to select IN for Instrumentation. Searching this index field ensures retrieval of a small but topically relevant set of titled instrument references.
Searching using truncation which is a searching technique used in databases in which a word ending is replace by a symbol such as an asterisk *
Using the boolean operator "AND" is not necessary, but it may help you organize your research process. To learn more about Boolean Operators refer to the Evidence-Based Research section of this toolkit.
Try using CINAHL INDEXES when you are trying to find tests. The Indexes are located under the "More" option.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
The HaPI database contains information on research instruments, (survey, interviews, rating scales, questionnaires, etc.)
While this database contains a wealth of information on research instruments, you will not find the actual instrument in HaPI. You will be able to:
Like CINAHL, when you do a search, you will generate a very similar looking results page. However, there are some difference to consider:
To find an article on the instrument use the, Find@SHU Libraries
If you find a citation to a study referencing or using an instrument of interest to you, you will have to track down the full text citation provided in the record.
Some Helpful Searching Tips
To help narrow down your search, the following are the most helpful indexes when focusing on a search.
Searching Instruments in PubMed
PubMed is the Interface for searching MEDLINE, the online index of biomedical journal article citations from 1950 to present. Premiere database of medical literature.
Searching by test title is easy in PubMed. If you want to browse tests, these MeSH Terms & Subheadings may help:
Add you area of study to these headings:
For Info on how to use PubMed use the PubMed toolkit guide:
Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS)
PROMIS is a set of person-centered measures that evaluates and monitors physical, mental, and social health in adults and children.
To use PROMIS you need to register
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Centers of Disease Control
Journals on Testing
Books on Testing and Research