Skip to main content

Special Collections at Seton Hall University

American Civil War Archival Collections

The Center collects materials that document the American Civil War, particularly as they relate to the participation of New Jersey or Seton Hall persons in the war. The following is a partial list of archival collections in this area, and will be added to as more collections are processed. Clicking on the title of the collection will take you to the finding aid for this collection; unless otherwise indicated, materials in these collections are not digitally available.

 

  • Confederate States of America Treasury bond, Mss 0060
    The Confederate States of America was formed in February 1861 after the secession of seven Southern states from the United States of America, starting the American Civil War. The Confederate Treasury began issuing bonds in February 1861 under an act authorized by the Confederate Congress. The Confederate States of America treasury bond, numbered 10225 and issued in the amount of $1,000, was issued 1 March 1864 under the authorization of an act passed on 17 February 1864 by the Confederate Congress.
    1.0 Linear feet, 2 items
  • Salt family letters, 1808-1917 (bulk 1850-1890), Mss 0035
    The Salt family originally lived in Brooklyn, NY but moved to Bath, NY in the 1840s. William Salt married Jane Dodge of Brooklyn and the couple had nine children: William Salt, Jr., Mary, John, Elinor, Caroline, Phoebe, Jennie, Dannie, Sarah, and Wellington. This collection primarily consists of correspondence between members of the Salt family. William M. Salt is a major contributor to this correspondence, as are three of his sisters Elinor, Mary (Mollie), and Caroline (Caddie). In addition, there are some letters from individuals not related to the Salt family. The collection spans the years of 1808 through 1917, although the bulk of the materials cover the 1850's through the 1890's. Topics covered in the correspondence includes the outbreak of the Civil War in Arkansas, life at Seton Hall College, and life for women and families in New York and New Jersey.
    2.5 Linear feet, Approximately 800 items.
  • Seton Jevons family papers, 1780s-1920, Mss 0005
    The collection contains the papers of the Seton family of New York City and the Jevons family of Liverpool, England and New York City.
    20.0 Linear feet , Approximately 45,000 items.

American Civil War Rare Books and Materials

  • Civil War Collection
    Civil War Rare Books Collection includes more than 1,000 volumes on the American Civil War. Materials in this collection came from the Gerald Murphy Civil War Collection, featuring a facsimile of the Treaty of Appomattox as well as some 500 volumes, the Pierce Byrne Civil War Collection, composed of volumes on social and political life, the Julius Landenheim Lincoln Collection that focuses primarily on the life and works of Abraham Lincoln, and the Schoch Civil War Collection.
  • World Military Uniform & Arms Collection
    This is a colorful grouping of printed works, plates and drawings including around 500 volumes which showcases the development of military dress, decoration and other aspects of ceremony found among different armies and navies across the globe.
Login to LibApps