Skip to main content

Special Collections at Seton Hall University

Ecumenism Archival Collections

The Center collects materials that document ecumenical efforts by members of the Roman Catholic Church and others. The following is a partial list of archival collections in this area, and will be added to as more collections are processed. Clicking on the title of the collection will take you to the finding aid for this collection; unless otherwise indicated, materials in these collections are not digitally available.

 

  • Walter W. Curtis papers, 1963-1965, ADN 0003.006
    Walter William Curtis was born on 3 May 1913 in Jersey City, New Jersey. He attended Seton Hall University and Immaculate Conception Seminary, was ordained in 1937, became a professor of moral theology at Immaculate Conception, and was appointed Bishop of Bridgeport (N.Y.) in 1961. Bishop Curtis attended all sessions of the Second Vatican Council in Rome. The Walter W. Curtis papers primarily consist of Bishop Curtis' day-by-day reports on the proceedings of the Second Vatican Council from 1962-1965, which include notes on all major points of discussion during the council and includes Bishop Curtis' perspective on many of these issues. Also included in the collection are two folders of material written by Bishop Curtis regarding the issue of birth control.
    0.5 linear feet, Approximately 400 items.
  • Nancy Forsberg papers, 1913-2011, Mss 0022
    Nancy Elizabeth Forsberg was born August 5, 1922 in Jersey City, New Jersey, and died April 5, 2008. Forsberg studied at many institutions, receiving her Master of Arts degree from New York University, New York, New York in 1965 concentrating in Hebrew culture and education. She was ordained in June 1951 and became pastor of the First Congregational Church in Union, New Jersey in 1967. The Nancy Forsberg papers include printed materials, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, magazines, sheet music, maps, essays, transcriptions, photographs, certificates, and her awards, focusing on her work on matters of interfaith and inter-religious topics, and religious education.
    Approximately 17.0 linear feet.
  • John H. Koenig papers, 1966-2001, ADN 0004.024
    John H. Koenig was born 24 December 1916. He graduated from Seton Hall college in 1938, was ordained into the priesthood on 30 May 1942 at St. Patrick's Cathedral in Newark, N.J., and served as director of the Archdiocesan Ecumenical Commission. Msgr. Koenig died on 15 August 2004. The John Koenig papers contain the professional papers of Rev. John Koenig from his work in the Archdiocese of Newark and as a parish pastor.
    Approximately 3 linear feet.
  • John M. Oesterreicher papers, 1920-2000, Mss 0053
    John M. Oesterreicher was born February 2, 1904 in Stadt-Liebau, Moravia, then a part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, into a Jewish family. He studied theology at the Universities of Graz and Vienna, was ordained to the priesthood in 1927, and In 1953 he founded the Institute for Judeo-Christian Studies at Seton Hall University in South Orange, NJ. The John M. Oesterreicher papers include manuscripts, correspondence and sermons centering on his work in Judeao-Christian Studies and anti-Semitism.
    Approximately 125 linear feet.
  • George Shea papers, 1927-1990, ADN 0004.001
    Rev. Monsignor. George W. Shea was born on 27 December 1910 in Newark, New Jersey, and attended Seton Hall University. He was ordained on 29 March 1936, became a Navy chaplain during World War II, and was a Peritus (expert) of the Second Vatican Council, attending all four sessions. He died on 8 July 1990 in Orange, New Jersey. This collection covers the professional areas of Monsignor George W. Shea's life. Research topics with great significance are centered on the Second Vatican Council, one of his longest and most prominent studies.
    Approximately 15 linear feet.
  • Rose Thering papers, 1944-2005, Mss 0016
    Rose Elizabeth Thering was born on 9 August 1920, entered the Dominican sisterhood at 16 and later became a teacher. She was a lifelong activist dedicated to increasing tolerance and understanding between Christians and Jews, and her work had great impact, from legislation mandating the teaching of the Holocaust in New Jersey schools to documents created at the Second Vatican Council changing the relationship of the Catholic Church with Jewish people. Sister Rose Thering died 6 May 2006. The Rose Thering papers consists of the professional and personal papers of Sister Rose Thering. The collection includes writings, correspondence, speeches, travel information, and subject files.
    Approximately 18.0 linear feet.
Login to LibApps