Skip to main content

Special Collections at Seton Hall University

Diplomacy and International Affairs Archival Collections

The Center collects materials that document international diplomacy and diplomatic efforts. The following is a partial list of archival collections in this area, and will be added to as more collections are processed. Clicking on the title of the collection will take you to the finding aid for this collection; unless otherwise indicated, materials in these collections are not digitally available.

 

  • Apostolic Nuncio records of the Archdiocese of Newark, 1950-2000 (bulk 1987-2000), ADN 0031
    The Apostolic Nuncio is the Vatican's ambassador to the United States and as the permanent diplomatic representative of the Holy See has both political and ecclesiastical powers. The Apostolic Nuncio records contain correspondence and general business that the Archdiocese of Newark conducted with the Vatican through the Apostolic Nuncio. The records span the years from 1950 to 2000 that the Archdiocese of Newark was in contact with the Apostolic Nuncio and document the tasks that were completed during those years. These records were assembled by the Archdiocese of Newark.
    3.0 linear feet.
  • Marcus Daly papers, 1901-1976, Mss 0004
    Marcus Daly taught political science and was nominated by President Eisenhower to be the Director of the Intergovernmental Committee for European Migration (ICEM), at which post he served from 1958-1961. He was also active in New Jersey politics. The Marcus Daly papers contain materials documenting Daly's professional life as Director of the Intergovernmental Committee for European Migration (ICEM), as a politician in New Jersey, and as an educator.
    15.0 linear feet.
  • Nancy Forsberg papers, 1913-2011, Mss 0022
    Nancy Elizabeth Forsberg was born August 5, 1922 in Jersey City, New Jersey, and died April 5, 2008. Forsberg studied at many institutions, receiving her Master of Arts degree from New York University, New York, New York in 1965 concentrating in Hebrew culture and education. She was ordained in June 1951 and became pastor of the First Congregational Church in Union, New Jersey in 1967. The Nancy Forsberg papers include printed materials, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, magazines, sheet music, maps, essays, transcriptions, photographs, certificates, and her awards, focusing on her work on matters of interfaith and inter-religious topics, and religious education.
    Approximately 17.0 linear feet.
  • Thomas and Margaret Melady papers, 1959-2010 (bulk 1960-1975), Mss 0072
    Ambassador Thomas P. and Dr. Margaret B. Melady have been involved in diplomatic and international affairs since the 1950s, particularly on the continent of Africa. Ambassador Melady has held multiple diplomatic posts for the United States, including Ambassador to Burundi, Ambassador to Uganda, and Ambassador to the Holy See, and the couple have written multiple books on politics in Africa, including Ten African Heroes: The Sweep of Independence in Black Africa. The Thomas and Margaret Melady papers primarily consist of correspondence related to African political leaders and movements during the 1960s and 1970s. Some materials are in French and Spanish.
    2.5 linear feet, approximately 400 items.
  • John M. Oesterreicher papers, 1920-2000, Mss 0053
    John M. Oesterreicher was born February 2, 1904 in Stadt-Liebau, Moravia, then a part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, into a Jewish family. He studied theology at the Universities of Graz and Vienna, was ordained to the priesthood in 1927, and In 1953 he founded the Institute for Judeo-Christian Studies at Seton Hall University in South Orange, NJ. The John M. Oesterreicher papers include manuscripts, correspondence and sermons centering on his work in Judeao-Christian Studies and anti-Semitism.
    Approximately 125 linear feet.
  • Donald M. Payne papers, 1988-2012, Mss 0078
    Donald M. Payne, 1934-2012, was New Jersey’s first African American congressional representative and served as New Jersey’s 10th district representative from 1989-2012. During his time in Congress, Congressman Payne served on a number of important committees and was a leading advocate for education, democracy, and human rights. The Donald M. Payne papers contain the professional papers of Donald M. Payne from his time as U.S. Representative for New Jersey’s 10th congressional district. The collection includes materials related to Congressman Payne’s legislative work, particularly for the House Committee on Education and Labor and the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, as well as on behalf of his district and state.
    Approximately 53 linear feet.
  • Rose Thering papers, 1944-2005, Mss 0016
    Rose Elizabeth Thering was born on 9 August 1920, entered the Dominican sisterhood at 16 and later became a teacher. She was a lifelong activist dedicated to increasing tolerance and understanding between Christians and Jews, and her work had great impact, from legislation mandating the teaching of the Holocaust in New Jersey schools to documents created at the Second Vatican Council changing the relationship of the Catholic Church with Jewish people. Sister Rose Thering died 6 May 2006. The Rose Thering papers consists of the professional and personal papers of Sister Rose Thering. The collection includes writings, correspondence, speeches, travel information, and subject files.
    Approximately 18.0 linear feet.
  • John Train papers, 1960-2003, Mss 0058
    John P.C. Train was born 25 May 1928 in New York City and was educated at Harvard University. He started several businesses, and founded the New York investment firm Train, Cabot, and Associates, later Train, Smith Counsel, and currently Train, Babcock Advisors. The John Train Papers include personal and professional correspondence, agendas, reports both governmental and professional, committee and foundation information, fund contributions, articles both published and submissions by John Train, interviews and articles about John Train, and a small amount of photographs.
    13.0 Linear feet , Approximately 2200 items.
Login to LibApps