Military Science

Welcome to the Seton Hall University Libraries Military Science Research Guide. The process of finding relevant source materials can move in different directions and to varying degrees, but the following list can provide an introductory reference area for interested researchers to explore. Our major book holdings center upon the American Civil War, Uniforms/Insignia, and Irish Military holdings within our Archives & Special Collections catalog, but our overall resource offerings center upon all aspects of military life. Consultation with a library professional is always welcome to aid with specific projects of any type.

Since the realm of armed forces exploration is varied, this is not a comprehensive list of resources, but rather a starting point on your personal path to discovery. This guide is a work in progress and please e-mail me with questions, comments and/or suggestions for improvement. Here is a starting list of information pages to help start your research efforts, but feel free to check out individual tabs above which provide more specific information on various armed conflicts throughout the course of American History and thank you in advance for your interest.

Archives Library Information Center Military Resources Site for Military History. Included are general records, Department of Defense, Aviation along with Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard histories.

A web magazine featuring online articles focused on military strategy and historical perspective.

Established in 1933 as the American Military History Foundation, renamed in 1939 the American Military Institute, and renamed again in 1990 the Society for Military History is devoted to advancing the study of military history.

The Center is a Directorate within the Office of the Administrative Assistant to the Secretary of the Army and provides historical information to its researchers.

This site promotes public programs and publications in support of the history, legacy and traditions of the United States Navy.

The primary task of this history division is to research and write the Marine Corps’ official history. They also provide reference and research assistance; preserve personal experiences and observations through oral history interviews; and deploys field historians to record history in the making.

The Air Force Historical Research Agency is the primary repository for U.S. Air Force historical documents in the nation and world.

The Coast Guard Historian's Office is charged with preserving, promoting and commemorating the Coast Guard's history and heritage in all forms, including documentation, official publications and manuals, photographs, oral histories, memoirs, and artifacts, among others. The Historian's Office mandate also includes preserving the history and heritage of each of its five predecessor agencies as well: the Revenue Cutter Service, the Life-Saving Service, the Lighthouse Service, the Bureau of Navigation, and the Steamboat Inspection Service. The collection housed in the Historian's Office is made up of material that complements, and to some degree duplicates, the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration. The Coast Guard's collection consists of hundreds of thousands of unique and accessible images, publications, manuals, directives, personal papers, diaries, and documents. The office also manages the Coast Guard's Curatorial Services Program and the Coast Guard Museum.

Mainly New Jersey-based oral recollections of those who had a connection to any 20th or 21st century military conflict.

This site along with other historical resources on this page can be searched for prime military related content.

Archives Library Information Center Military Resources Site for Military History. Included are general records, Department of Defense, Aviation along with Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard histories.

A web magazine featuring online articles focused on military strategy and historical perspective.

Established in 1933 as the American Military History Foundation, renamed in 1939 the American Military Institute, and renamed again in 1990 the Society for Military History is devoted to advancing the study of military history.

The Center is a Directorate within the Office of the Administrative Assistant to the Secretary of the Army and provides historical information to its researchers.

This site promotes public programs and publications in support of the history, legacy and traditions of the United States Navy.

The Air Force Historical Research Agency is the primary repository for U.S. Air Force historical documents in the nation and world.

Mainly New Jersey-based oral recollections of those who had a connection to any 20th or 21st century military conflict.