Skip to Main Content
Anthropology 3220
Research Help
- How to read a journal articleA great description of peer-reviewed articles, their structure and what is in each element
- Guide to ZoteroZotero is a free bibliographic manager
Contact information
Course videos
- The Brain: Streaming Video SeriesLink to all six episodes
- The Brain Episode 1: What is RealityEpisode: What is Reality? - How the brain constructs our multi-sensory reality from within the silence and darkness of the skull.
- Episode 2: What makes me?What Makes Me? - How our personality, memories, and sense of self all emerge from neural activity. We are our brains.
- Episode 3: Who is in Control?How the unconscious brain controls much of who we are and what we do.
- Episode 4: How do I decideHow the brain navigates the myriad of conscious and unconscious decisions we make every day.
- Episode 5: why do I need you?Explores how the human brain depends on other brains to thrive and survive.
- Episode 6: Who will we be?Dr. Eagleman journeys into the future, and asks what's next for the human brain, and for our species.
Course Books
Teaching Critical Thinking by Call Number: eBook, unlimited access, save/print 60 pagesISBN: 9780203869192
Databases
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. AnthroSource provides current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
- Social Science Database (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Social Science Journals offers access to a variety of scientific journals. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable platform providing full text of over 2,700 journals in the sciences, health and medical sciences, social sciences and some humanities subjects. Our subscriptions now include the ScienceDirect Freedom collection (2011 to present) as well as our previous subscriptions (1995 to present). ScienceDirect, provided by Elsevier, also links directly to Scopus.
