DIPL 6130: International Security
Remote Diplomacy Research
Welcome to the DIPL 6130
Guide!
We want to help get you acclimated to the SHU Libraries website. This site will help in all of your classes.
Take special note of News and Citation sources.
Be sure to view our video tutorials. They will teach you core searching skills that will save you time all year long.
An example of a searching trick - when searching for a newspaper article or book title, remove any extra punctuation like colons (:) or commas (,). Simplifying your search will sometimes get you better results.
Graduate Students should also view this Diplomacy Remote Research Guide.
Getting Started: Databases
- JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new windowExplore a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
- JSTOR - All library subscriptions This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).
- HeinOnline (Shared from SETON HALL | LAW) This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline contains 2,500 law-related periodicals and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents.
- LexisNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowExplore 17,000 news, business, and legal sources including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Includes journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.
- Oxford Scholarly Authorities in International Law This link opens in a new windowOxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law contains full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press, such as Oppenheim, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law. (A Seton Hall Law Rodino Library subscription)
Ask Us! Email, Chat, and Consultations
Ask Us! Email or Chat
You can email us or chat with a librarian from the convenience of your home! Chat service is staffed by SHU Librarians during normal business hours.
Research Consultations
SHU librarians with Diplomacy, International Relations, Political Science and Data expertise in specific subject areas are available for remote consultations via phone, email, or online (e.g. Teams).
Please contact Michael Murphy (michael.murphy3@shu.edu) for information about Diplomacy resources or research questions.
Data Services Consultations
Library faculty and staff are available for workshops and one-on-one consultations to help you find, manage, analyze, and visualize the data you need for your coursework and use in your research. Data Services Appointments can be made upon request. Questions? Reach out to data.services@shu.edu