Marketing
Databases for Marketing
On this page, you will find a selection of databases and websites that will provide you with company data, industry data, and demographic data. For a complete list of business databases use the following link: Seton Hall University Libraries A-Z Databases
Are you unsure of which data source to use? Book an appointment with a librarian: https://library.shu.edu/library/research-appointments
Trying to access market research reports? Try this!
On the library homepage navigate to the SHU Search box and enter, SE "RKMA Market Research Handbook Series", to access Richard K. Miller market research eBooks.
Industry and company profiles:
- Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Statista: Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries This link opens in a new windowQuickly find data for popular topics in the news and across disciplines. Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Curated data is ready in multiple formats for Excel analysis or curated graphics can easily be pasted into presentations, research papers and Adobe Creative Cloud.
To search for industry reports:
Click on the Reports drop-down and choose Industry & Market reports or Consumer & Brand reports.
Click on Insights drop-down and choose Market Insights.
To search for company reports:
Click on the Reports drop-down and choose Companies & Products reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowUnited States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
- Business Market Research Collection (1986 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new windowConduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
To search Hoover's Company Reports use the following in the search box:
publication("Hoover's Company Records") and "insert company"
To search for Barnes Industry Reports use the following in the search box:
publication("US Industry & Market Reports") and "insert industry"
- Plunkett Corporate Benchmarking ReportsCompany profiles
Full text coverage: Jan 9, 2018 - present, some exceptions
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc.
To search for Marketline Company Profile use the following in the search box:
SO "marketline company profile" AND "insert company"
Demographic data:
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
Web Data Resources
- Commerce Data HubThe primary goal of this site is to provide an overview of the public data maintained by the Department of Commerce and its bureaus and offices.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industries at a GlanceNorth American Industry Classification System (NAICS) at BLS: Alphabetical order
- SEC’s Edgar OnlineThe Security & Exchange Commission's database, EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval), provides free access to 10-Ks, 10-Qs, proxies, prospectuses, and other documents.
- Demographic Data on the webLink to American Library Association's list of demographic data sources.
- FRED - St. Louis FED"Short for Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis..."
- U.S. Census Bureau - Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels.
- NaCo County ExplorerVisualization of county level data.