History - Getting Started
Video Sources
- Inside the Vaults of the National ArchivesPresidential Inauguration speeches, JFK and the Cuban Missile Crisis, The March on Washington in Photographs
These are excellent resources for primary sources.
- History, Art & Archive (U.S. House of Representatives)Contains digital collections, oral histories and records related to the history of the US House.
- Ken Burn's PBS Learning MediaA one-stop online destination for free teaching and learning resources inspired by Ken Burns’s renowned documentaries. Created for 6-12th grade educators, the new hub houses a full library of classroom-ready content – aligned to state and national standards – to help students further explore the complex historical events and issues illustrated in Ken Burns’s films.
Featured Source: RIAMCO
- Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online (RIAMCO)The gateway to information about archival collections in Rhode Island. The finding aids give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at repositories across Rhode Island.
Web Resources - World History
- CELT: Corpus of Electronic TextsThe Free Digital Humanities Resource for Irish history, literature and politics.
- Cold War International History ProjectSponsored by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C.
- EuropaThe primary source for information on the major EU organs.
- European History OnlineA resource that covers the "transcultural history of Europe on the Internet" over the past 500 years.
- South Asian Oral History ProjectThe SAOHP represents one of the first attempts in the U.S. to record pan-South Asian immigrant experiences in the Pacific Northwest using oral history
- Vision of Britain Through TimeA vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001 including maps, statistical trends and historical descriptions.
Web Sources
American Journeys http://www.americanjourneys.org/
American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
American Presidency Project at http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy at http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/major.asp
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1938 at http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/snhtml/snhome.html
Colonial Williamsburg Digital Library http://research.history.org/DigitalLibrary.cfm
Documenting the American South http://docsouth.unc.edu/browse/collections.html
Google Books at http://books.google.com/
Internet Archive at http://archive.org/
Jesuit Relations at http://puffin.creighton.edu/jesuit/relations/
Making of America (Cornell University) http://digital.library.cornell.edu/m/moa/
Making of America (University of Michigan) http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/
National Archives http://www.archives.gov/
Project Gutenberg at http://www.gutenberg.org/
Voyages: The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database at http://slavevoyages.org/tast/index.faces
Women Working, 1800-1930 at http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/
Gateways & Portals
- Best of History WebsitesAccess to websites by subject or time period
- The Voice of the ShuttleA vast collection of web sites which leads to journals, conferences, departments, teaching resources, and regionally organized links.