St. Elizabeth Ann Seton & Family
Blessed Elizabeth Ann Seton - Family Resources (Introduction)
Elizabeth Ann Seton was born the daughter of Dr. Richard Bayley (1745-1801), a trailblazing professor and first health official for New York City and Catherine Charlton of New York City, Elizabeth Ann (Bayley) Seton came from a prominent family of French Huguenot and English settlers and married into the socially famed Seton clan by way of her late husband Dr. William McGee Seton (1768-1803). As part of New York society, the connections to other famed and influential families expanded over subsequent generations including ties to the Roosevelt family. This is clearly evident in the legacy of the first Bishop of Newark, James Roosevelt Bayley (1814-1877) who was a nephew of Mother Seton. Other prominent figures in this family tree include daughter Catherine (1800-1891), the first American born member of the Sisters of Charity; William Seton II (1796-1868), a founding partner in the William Seton Company (later known as Seton, Maitland and Company) that specialized in mercantile imports-exports; Bishop James Roosevelt Bayley (1814-1877), the first Bishop of Newark (and founder of Seton Hall College in 1856); Robert Seton (1839-1927), grandson to Mother Seton,Titular Archbishop o Heliopolis and College Trustee during the nineteenth century; and William Seton III ( 1835-1905), a noted novelist and popular science writer to name a few. The following links provide more details on this historic and prolific family.
Blessed Elizabeth Ann Seton - Family Resources (Internet)
- Seton,George. A History of the Family of Seton During Eight Centuries. (Edinburg: T&A Constable, 1896)Internet Archive. A history of the family of Seton during eight centuries. [With plates, including portraits, illustrations, facsimiles, a bibliography and genealogical tables.] by Seton, George, 1822-1908
- St. Elizabeth Ann Seton - Catholic EncyclopediaNew Advent Catholic Encyclopedia Entry
- Bayley, James Roosevelt - Catholic EncyclopediaNew Advent Catholic Encyclopedia Entry
- The Setons, The Bayleys, and The RooseveltsVincentian Family Office Information Site
- St. Elizabeth Ann Seton - Hathi Trust ResourcesFounded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection
- The Life of James Roosevelt BayleySister Hildegarde Yeager (Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America, 1947)
- The Roosevelt Genealogy, 1649-1902Whittelsey, Charles Barney. (Hartford, CT: J.R. Burr, 1902)
- Rev. J.R. Bayley - A Brief Sketch of the Early History of the Catholic Church on the Island of New YorkBayley, Rev. J.R. (New York: Catholic Publication Society, 1870)
- Memoirs of the Right Reverend Simon Wm. Gabriel Bruté, D. D., first bishop of Vincennes, with sketches describing his recollections of scenes connected with the French revolution, and extracts from his journal By the Rt. Rev. James Roosevelt BayleyBruté de Rémur, Simon William Gabriel. (New York, D. & J. Sadlier & co., 1861)
- The Amazing Roosevelt Family, 1613-1942Schriftgiesser, Karl. (New York. W. Funk, Inc., 1942)