Skip to Main Content
Jewish-Christian Studies
Featured Encyclopedia
-
Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora
by
ISBN: 1851098739Publication Date: 2008-09-19This three-volume work is a cornerstone resource on the evolution and dynamics of the Jewish Diaspora as it played out around the world—from its beginnings to the present. * Over 400 entries and essays in three volumes, arranged by theme, country, and region * Over 120 contributors, including the world's foremost Diaspora scholars.
Online Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopaedia Judaica (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowEach Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives. The library has access to more than a hundred of these online handbooks in the subject areas of history, religion, business & management, political science, and criminal justice. Just look for the green unlocked symbol to identify the titles owned by SHU Libraries.
-
Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
by
ISBN: 9781588266866Publication Date: 2010-09-30 -
-
T&T Clark's Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism, Vol. II
ISBN: 9780567694836Publication Date: 2019 -
Print Encyclopedias
-
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
by
Call Number: BM50 .O94 1997ISBN: 0195086058Publication Date: 1997-03-13This comprehensive dictionary of the Jewish religion contains nearly 2,400 alphabetically arranged entries ranging from short definitions to lengthy essays on major topics. It is the most accessible and complete one-volume resource available for information on the concepts, beliefs, and practices of historical and contemporary Jewish religious practice. The combined effort of Israeli, American, and European scholars, this dictionary reflects the great variety of Jewish religious expression, from the traditional approaches to such recent variations as Reform, Conservative, and Reconstructionist Judaism.
