Middle Eastern & North African Studies

This unique collection features more than 7,500 e-books from trusted publishers covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts and more.

Each Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives. The library has access to more than a hundred of these online handbooks in the subject areas of history, religion, business & management, political science, and criminal justice. Just look for the green unlocked symbol to identify the titles owned by SHU Libraries.

ProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in related religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives

This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work.