Skip to Main Content

University History

The following guide is designed to provide the reader with information about resources that detail the historical evolution of Seton Hall University.

Presidents & Chancellors

The following individuals have served as chief executives of Seton Hall College/University since its founding in 1856. Each served as President unless otherwise noted. Dates in office are provided to offer chronological order along with those who served as Chancellor in a formal or transitional capacity where bracketed.

  • Most Reverend Bernard J. McQuaid, D.D. (1856-1857)
  • Reverend Daniel J. Fisher, D.D. (1857-1859)
  • Most Reverend Bernard J. McQuaid,D.D. (1859-1867)
  • Most Reverend Michael A. Corrigan, D.D. (1867-1876)
  • Reverend James H. Corrigan, D.D. (1876-1888)
  • Reverend William F. Marshall, D.D. (1888-1897)
  • Reverend Joseph F. Synott, D.D. (1897-1899)
  • Right Reverend John A. Stafford, S.T.L. (1899-1907)
  • Right Reverend James F. Mooney, D.D., LL.D. (1907-1922)
  • Most Reverend Thomas H. McLaughlin, S.T.D. (1922-1933)
  • Most Reverend Francis J. Monaghan, S.T.D. (1933-1936)
  • Right Reverend James F. Kelley, Ph.D. (1936-1949)
  • Right Reverend John L. McNulty, Ph.D., LL.D. (1949-1959)
  • Most Reverend John J. Dougherty, S.S.D., LL.D., S.T.D., L.H.D. (1959-1969)
  • Reverend Monsignor Edward J. Fleming, Ph.D., LL.D. (1969) [Acting President]
  • Reverend Monsignor Thomas G. Fahy, Ph.D. (1970-1976)
  • John A. Cole, M.B.A., LL.D. (1976-1977) [Acting President]
  • Robert T. Conley, Ph.D. (1977-1979)
  • Reverend Laurence T. Murphy, M.M., Ph.D. (1979-1980)
  • Edward D'Alessio, Ph.D. (1980-1984) [Chief Operations Officer 1980-1981]
  • John J. Petillo, Ph.D. (1984-1988) [Chancellor]
  • Monsignor Dennis J. Mahon, Ph.D. (1988-1989) [Acting Chancellor]
  • Monsignor Rchard M. Liddy, S.T.L., Ph.D. (1-6/1990) [Acting Chancellor]
  • Very Reverend Thomas R. Peterson, O.P. (1990-1995) [Chancellor]
  • Monsignor Robert Sheeran, S.T.D. (1995-2010)
  • A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D. (2010-2017)
  • Mary Meehan, Ph.D. (2017-2019) [Acting President]
  • Joseph E. Nyre, Ph.D. (2019-Present)