Presidential Election 2024
Law & Public Policy Databases
- HeinOnline (Shared from SETON HALL | LAW) This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline contains 2,500 law-related periodicals and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. The database contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents.
- LexisNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowExplore 17,000 news, business, and legal sources including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Includes journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives.
Welcome to University Libraries: How to Guides and Videos
- SHU Libraries "How to" GuideA wealth of help in navigating our rich resources.
- How to Find BooksHow to search for and find books at SHU Libraries
- How to use SHUsearchHow to find articles and more using the library's easy search box.
- All tutorials on how to use the libraryHow to borrow books or articles from other libraries, and more
Databases
You can access all library databases at this web address: http://library.shu.edu/az.php. On the right side of the page, you will see popular databases. All of these are excellent starting points for political research. CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints will give you both sides of popular issues of today ranging from gun control to immigration.
When researching the US government, you want to know the agency name, political party or topic your are looking for. Are you looking for declassified documents, media coverage or election data? Keywords to get you started might include: a specific bill or resolution, campaigns, chronology, courts, elections, foreign policy, government agencies, Senate, Supreme Court justices, voting records and the White House.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides background information from 4000 academic reference sources and allows users to create mindmaps for research topics. Access this link https://library.shu.edu/credo-reference to view 200+ ebook titles.
- GenderWatch‎ (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
- JSTOR - All library subscriptions This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).
- Political Science Database (1985 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new windowThis database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
- ProQuest Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
Journals
Start your political science research with these journals. A full list of Seton Hall political science journals can be viewed here or at this link: http://browzine.com/libraries/825/subjects/67/bookcases/167?sort=title
Research Guides
There are many additional guides that can help with Political Science Research: