SOWK (Social Work) Books on Reserve

Distinguished by its critical perspective, this book delivers a balanced and comprehensive examination of the child welfare system in the United States today. In a clear and accessible style, it outlines key issues, reviews the history of the child welfare system, and explores the challenges to developing appropriate federal, state, and local policies that address child welfare concerns. A chapter devoted to innovative and effective child welfare and prevention practices showcases examples of successful programs. Additionally, the book underscores the importance of coordination among human service professionals and organizations. The text addresses issues related to the educational system, homelessness, poverty, the juvenile justice system, foster care, and adoption. It incorporates the perspectives of parents and children involved in the system, who cite both positive experiences and bureaucratic challenges. Child welfare workers themselves describe the professional and personal realities of their experiences working within the system. Illustrative case examples of abused and neglected children add to the text's value for undergraduate and graduate students studying child welfare. Key Features: Provides a comprehensive overview of child welfare issues in the United States today Offers case examples of abused/neglected children and their families Includes the perspectives of parents and children involved with the child welfare system Incorporates the views of child welfare workers Provides examples of innovative practices in child welfare free online resources for qualified adopters including PowerPoints, Learning Objectives, Chapter Summaries, Key Concepts, and Exam Questions

"A worthy addition to a graduate training bookshelf... I was a bit daunted by the large, almost 600-page book that landed on my desk, but once I started reading it I had a hard time putting it down "--Melanie D. Hetzel-Riggin, PhD, Penn State, Journal of Trauma and Dissociation Trauma Counseling is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary guide to the theory and treatment of survivors of a broad spectrum of traumatic events, including interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorism. It is written by a Fulbright scholar who is internationally recognized for her work with traumatized populations in Rwanda, several southern African countries, Russia, and the United States. It also includes the contributions of researchers from the United States, Australia, Africa, and Europe. The book discusses evidence-based trauma assessment and intervention techniques and integrates the latest findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. It focuses on issues of loss and grief, survivorship and disability, genocide, natural disasters, the impact of war on civilians and veterans, and the distinct effects of trauma in early childhood, childhood, and adolescence. Also addressed are ethical perspectives and methods of self-care for counselors who work with this population. The text will be of value to graduate counseling students and professional counselors as well as social workers, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, and other human service providers, who will be able to attend to trauma survivors with a depth of knowledge and confidence. The contents of Trauma Counseling not only fulfill but exceed the requirements of The Council of Accreditation and Counseling and Related Educational Program (CACREP) standards. Key Features: Addresses the theory and treatment of trauma survivors of interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorism Provides a multidisciplinary approach to treatment that integrates findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. Includes evidence-based counseling techniques Illuminates the intersections of trauma, crisis, and disaster issues, exceeding related requirements of CACREP standards Examines ethical dimensions and the need for self-care among trauma counselors Emphasizes the relevance of clinical supervision in trauma care Offers topic-relevant resources at the end of each chapter

"This is a must-read for clinicians who help traumatized children and their families. Lanktree and Briere have developed and tested an accessible, integrated, assessment-driven model that recognizes the ample impact of trauma on young children in different social contexts. A valuable alternative to rigidly manualized treatments, this book relies on clinical judgment and customized planning." Eliana Gil Gil Institute for Trauma Recovery and Education One of the few books on the treatment of psychological trauma in children that provides specific, in-depth individual, group, and family therapy interventions for complex psychological trauma, this practical book focuses on the treatment of 6-12 year-old children and their family members. The authors employ an evidence-based, yet flexible and individualized treatment model, Integrative Treatment of Complex Trauma for Children (ITCT-C), as they address the use of play therapy and other expressive approaches, attachment processing, multi-target titrated exposure, mindfulness techniques, psychoeducation, and affect regulation skill development, as well as interventions with family/caretaker and community systems. The authors emphasize a culturally sensitive and empowering perspective, one that addresses the effects of social marginalization and supports not only recovery, but also posttraumatic growth. Clinical examples and specific tools, such as the Assessment Treatment Flowchart (ATF-C), illustrate how assessment can be used to guide individualized and developmentally-appropriate interventions.

"The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion" offers both parents and professionals access to the best scholarship from all areas of child studies in a remarkable one-volume reference. a Bringing together contemporary research on children and childhood from pediatrics, child psychology, childhood studies, education, sociology, history, law, anthropology, and other related areas, "The Child" contains more than 500 articles written by experts in their fields and overseen by a panel of distinguished editors led by anthropologist Richard A. Shweder. Each entry provides a concise and accessible synopsis of the topic at hand. For example, the entry OC Adoption OCO begins with a general definition, followed by a detailed look at adoption in different cultures and at different times, a summary of the associated mental and developmental issues that can arise, and an overview of applicable legal and public policy. a While presenting certain universal facts about children OCOs development from birth through adolescence, the entries also address the many worlds of childhood both within the United States and around the globe. They consider the ways that in which race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic status, and cultural traditions of child rearing can affect children OCOs experiences of physical and mental health, education, and family. Alongside the topical entries, "The Child" includes more than forty OC Imagining Each Other OCO essays, which focus on the particular experiences of children in different cultures. In OC Work before Play for Yucatec Maya Children, OCO for example, readers learn of the work responsibilities of some modern-day Mexican children, while in OC A Hindu Brahman Boy Is Born Again, OCO they witness a coming-of-age ritual in contemporary India. a Compiled by some of the most distinguished child development researchers in the world, "The Child" will broaden the current scope of knowledge on children and childhood. It is an unparalleled resource for parents, social workers, researchers, educators, and others who work with children.

The field of human development focuses on the growth and development of the human being including physical, social, psychological, and emotional development. Under the broad umbrella of the term human development you find countless topics that range from charting the emotional attachment of an infant to his or her parents and its long-term effects on well-being, media violence and adolescents' behavior, or factors moderating the natural decline in physical and mental abilities associated with aging. The Encyclopedia of Human Development is the first comprehensive, authoritative, and informative reference work that presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, and education in a way that is not too technical. With more than 600 entries, this three-volume Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more. Key Features Provides cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from experts in the fields of psychology, education, human development and family studies, and gerontology Highlights classic studies and theories and provides brief biographies of notable researchers and theorists Takes a lifespan approach by including several "anchor essays" that cover specific phases of development such as prenatal, infancy, childhood, adolescence, early and middle adulthood, later adulthood and aging Begins with an Introduction that details the scope, rationale, and audience for the work The cross-disciplinary field of human development is one that captures interest among and holds practical relevance for the general public as well as academia, therefore this engaging Encyclopedia will be a welcome addition to any academic or public library.

Getting all of your information and collaborators from your department's faculty lounge may be a career-limiting decision. Amey and Brown, both of Michigan State University, give a step-by-step plan for developing interdisciplinary collaboration, from confronting tradition to causing transition and transformation. They also describe the groundwork

Essential Skills of Social Work Practice, Third Edition presents the basics of effective social work practice and helps students develop competence in assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Its broad coverage explores the counseling, case management, and research skills necessary to implement evidence-based practice in contemporary social work. Part I of the text includes three chapters that address the core foundations of social work practice: how assessment, intervention and evaluation are linked; the role of theory and research in practice; and a chapter on ethics. Part II, in addition to explaining how to conduct sound assessments and treatment planning, also examines client supportive/engagement skills, cognitive-behavioral skills, and case management skills. Part III focuses on integrating these skills into evidence-based practices with common mental health disorders and problems-in-living with adults, children, and families. Case studies, inspired by real clients, are accompanied by a psychosocial assessment, intervention, and evaluation plan. Appendix B, "The Comprehensive Service Plan," is incorporated throughout the text.