ENVL Books on Reserve

Folder w/Pamphlets

Companion to Environmental Studies presents a comprehensive and interdisciplinary overview of the key issues, debates, concepts, approaches and questions that together define environmental studies today. The intellectually wide-ranging volume covers approaches in environmental science all the way through to humanistic and post-natural perspectives on the biophysical world. Though many academic disciplines have incorporated studying the environment as part of their curriculum, only in recent years has it become central to the social sciences and humanities rather than mainly the geosciences. 'The environment' is now a keyword in everything from fisheries science to international relations to philosophical ethics to cultural studies. The Companion brings these subject areas, and their distinctive perspectives and contributions, together in one accessible volume. Over 150 short chapters written by leading international experts provide concise, authoritative and easy-to-use summaries of all the major and emerging topics dominating the field, while the seven part introductions situate and provide context for section entries. A gateway to deeper understanding is provided via further reading and links to online resources. Companion to Environmental Studies offers an essential one-stop reference to university students, academics, policy makers and others keenly interested in 'the environmental question', the answer to which will define the coming century.

An illustrated reference guide to hurricanes, typhoons and cyclones from meteorological, historical and cultural aspects.

From the renowned Lutgens/Tarbuck/Tasa team, the Twelfth Edition of Essentials of Geology continues to elevate its readability, art program, focus on basic principles and instructor flexibility. This revision incorporates what has historically made the text a best seller with a new active learning approach throughout each chapter, which offers students a structured learning path and provides a reliable, consistent framework for mastering the chapter concepts. nbsp; It also includes new additions to its learning path, mobile field trips, and visual program. This edition is supported by MasteringGeology(tm)-used by over 1.5 million science students, the Mastering platform is the most effective and widely used online tutorial, homework, and assessment system for the sciences. nbsp; This program will provide an interactive and engaging learning experience for your students. Here's how: Personalize learning with MasteringGeology: MasteringGeology provides students with engaging and interactive experiences that coach them through introductory physical geography with specific wrong-answer feedback, hints, and a wide variety of educationally effective content. Teach with an active learning path that emphasizes learning objectives, tie questions back to objectives, ask students to analyze, synthesize, and critically think about core concepts, and break down chapter content. Engage students with an art program that supports a structured learning path with its bold-magazine like design.nbsp; Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; My_Lab/Mastering does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and My_Lab/Mastering search for ISBN-10: 0321949803/ISBN-13: 9780321949806. That package includes ISBN-10: 0321947738/ISBN-13: 9780321947734 and ISBN-10: 0321966864/ISBN-13: 9780321966865. My_Lab/Mastering is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.

This text provides up-to-date coverage of geology, including treatment of environmental issues, as well as looking at historical geology.

Building on the tremendous reception to its parent text, Earth 6/e, the same groundbreaking media package is now integrated into this brief version of the best-selling introductory physical geology text. The GEODe II CD-ROM (included with every copy of the text), a text-dedicated web site, and more, provide complete, state-of-the-art multimedia support for both students and instructors. Essentials of Geology, 7/e retains the hallmarks professors have come to expect from Tarbuck and Lutgens--student-friendly writing style, carefully crafted illustrations by Dennis Tasa that are both geologically accurate and visually appealing, and updated coverage of the most recent geologic events.

For introductory physical geology courses.   Using dynamic media to bring geology to life From the renowned Lutgens/Tarbuck/Tasa team, the 13th Edition of Essentials of Geology continues to elevate the text's readability, illustrations, and focus on basic principles. This revision incorporates a structured learning path and reliable, consistent framework for mastering the chapter concepts. With a fully integrated mobile media program that includes new Mobile Field Trip and Project Condor quadcopter videos as well as new animations and videos, this edition provides a unique, interactive, and engaging learning experience for readers.   Also available with Mastering Geology Mastering(tm) Geology is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Interactive, self-paced tutorials provide individualized coaching to help students stay on track. With a wide range of activities available, students can actively learn, understand, and retain even the most difficult concepts. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Geology does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Geology, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Geology, search for:  0134663772 / 9780134663777 Essentials of Geology Plus Mastering Geology with eText -- Access Card Package   Package consists of: 0134446623 / 9780134446622 Essentials of Geology 0134609042 / 9780134609041 Mastering Geology with Pearson eText -- Standalone Access Card -- for Essentials of Geology Essentials of Geology , 13th  Edition is also available via  Pearson eText, a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students -- right in their eTextbook.  Learn more.

All of the line art from the text and transparency set are reproduced in this full color notebook, with space for notes. Students can now fully focus on the lecture and not be distracted by attempting to replicate figures. Each page is three-hole punched for easy integration with other course materials.

Personal Book

Personal Book