Arabic Studies books on reserve

eTextbooks are now available to rent or purchase through VitalSource.com! Please visit their website for pricing and availability. Al-Kitaab Part One, Third Edition is the second book in the bestselling Al-Kitaab Arabic Language Program. Part One uses an integrated approach to develop skills in formal and colloquial Arabic, including reading, listening, speaking, writing, and cultural knowledge. This comprehensive program is designed for students in the early stages of learning Arabic. NEW: Audio and video content needed to complete the homework exercises is available to stream online for free on AlKitaabTextbook.com. (DVDs that once featured the audio and video are now obsolete and no longer included in the books.) Homework exercises are printed in the textbooks. Answer Keys are available for purchase. Access to the Smart Sparrow Companion website is available free of charge until 12/31/20. Instructors may request complimentary print or digital Teacher's Edition exam or desk copies, which include the answer key. To request access to any of the Teacher's Edition Vital Source eTextbooks, instructors may visit VitalSource.com and select "Faculty Sampling" in the upper right corner. Please note: While answer keys are sold separately from the Student's Edition, the corresponding answer key is included in the Teacher's Edition. FEATURES* Three varieties of Arabic--Egyptian, Levantine, and formal Arabic--presented using color-coded words and phrases* Over 400 vocabulary words in three forms of Arabic, side by side* Grammar explanations and activation drills, including discussions about colloquial and formal similarities and differences* Authentic texts that develop reading comprehension skills * Video dialogues and stories from everyday life in Egyptian, formal Arabic, and Levantine to reinforce vocabulary in culturally rich contexts, available on AlKitaabTextbook.com* Presents the story of Maha and Khalid in formal Arabic and Egyptian, and Nasreen and Tariq in Levantine* Arabic-English and English-Arabic glossaries, reference charts, and a grammar index

This is the Teacher's Edition of Al-Kitaab fii Ta callum al-cArabiyya: A Textbook for Beginning Arabic: Part One, Third Edition. It includes the text, accompanying DVD, and the answer key all bound in to one book. Request a Desk/Exam copy here. Al-Kitaab Part One is the second book in the Al-Kitaab Arabic language program and is now available in an extensively revised and reorganized third edition. This book with its companion website develops skills in formal and colloquial Arabic, including reading, listening, speaking, writing, and cultural knowledge, integrating materials in colloquial and formal/written Arabic. It provides a comprehensive program for students in the early stages of learning Arabic. FEATURES • Four-color design throughout the book with over 100 illustrations and photographs • Color-coded words and phrases throughout to easily follow the variety or varieties of Arabic you want to learn -- Egyptian, Levantine, or formal Arabic • Introduces over 400 vocabulary words in all three forms of Arabic side by side • Presents the story of Maha and Khalid in Egyptian, and now Nasreen and Tariq in Levantine, in addition to Maha and Khalid in formal Arabic • Expanded grammar explanations and activation drills, including discussions about colloquial and formal similarities and differences • New video dialogues from everyday life in both Egyptian and Levantine to reinforce vocabulary in culturally-rich contexts • Develops reading comprehension skills with new authentic texts • Reinforces learning through extensive classroom activities and homework exercises that provide constant review • Includes Arabic-English and English-Arabic glossaries, reference charts, and a grammar index • Reduced from 20 chapters to 13 chapters, the course now more closely corresponds to two semesters of college study with an average of 4-5 contact hours per week • Textbook includes a convenient DVD with the basic audio and video materials (no interactive exercises) for offline study that will play in iTunes and compatible MP3 players • New companion website (sold separately) -- alkitaabtextbook.com -- features fully integrated interactive, self-correcting exercises, all the audio and video materials, and additional online course management and grading options for teachers Al-Kitaab Part One, Third Edition provides 125 contact (classroom) hours with approximately 250 homework hours. Students who complete Part One should reach an intermediate-mid level of proficiency.

This is the Teacher's Edition of Alif Baa, Third Edition. It includes the text, accompanying DVD, and the answer key all bound in to one book. Request a Desk/Exam copy here. The best-selling Alif Baa is the first volume of the Al-Kitaab Arabic language program and is now available in a new third edition. In this new version of the introduction to Arabic letters and sounds, English-speaking students will find an innovative integration of colloquial and formal (spoken and written) Arabic. Together, the book and new companion website provide learners with all the material necessary to learn the sounds of Arabic, write its letters, and begin speaking Arabic, including interactive, self-correcting exercises to enhance learning. The companion website also gives instructors additional online grading options. FEATURES • Four-color design throughout the book features over 100 illustrations and photographs • Gives learners and instructors color-coded options for the variety of language they wish to learn in speaking: Egyptian, Levantine, or formal Arabic (MSA) • Introduces over 200 basic vocabulary words in all three forms of spoken and written Arabic side by side, including expressions for polite social interaction, and activates them in interactive homework exercises and classroom group work • Includes video dialogues in Egyptian and Levantine, filmed in Cairo and Damascus • Includes video footage of an Arabic calligrapher, capsules on Arabic culture, and images of street signs from Morocco, Egypt, and Lebanon • Includes new English-Arabic and Arabic-English glossaries, searchable in the companion website • Textbook includes a convenient DVD with the basic audio and video materials (no interactive exercises) for offline study that will play in iTunes and compatible MP3 players • New companion website (sold separately) -- alkitaabtextbook.com -- features a fully integrated set of interactive exercises with all the video and audio materials and additional online course management and grading options for teachers Alif Baa provides the essential first 20-25 contact (classroom) hours of the Al-Kitaab program, accompanied by 40-50 homework hours. Students who complete Alif Baa should reach a novice-intermediate to novice-high level of proficiency.