Skip to Main Content
Netflix: MBA Spotlight Company
Locating Business Data
On this page, you will find a selection of databases and websites that will provide you with company data, industry data, and demographic data. For a complete list of business databases use the following link: Seton Hall University Libraries A-Z Databases
Are you unsure of which data source to use? Book an appointment with your Business and Data Librarian, Kayla Glynn.
Company Data
You can start with exploring a company's website. Often scrolling to the bottom and clicking on "About Us" or "Investor Relations" is a good starting point. Keep in mind that the company publishes this information so there is a potential for bias. Meaning that unfavorable news might not be reported or reported with a positive spin. To get a more comprehensive viewpoint it is important to consult several sources, including the databases below.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (1971 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional business articles. There are also company profiles, SWOT analyses, business dissertations, and articles from the Wall Street Journal.
- Statista: Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries This link opens in a new windowQuickly find data for popular topics in the news and across disciplines. Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Curated data is ready in multiple formats for Excel analysis or curated graphics can easily be pasted into presentations, research papers and Adobe Creative Cloud.
- ValueLine Investment Survey This link opens in a new windowThe Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. For each stock it offers one to five years probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowGale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, usable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research.
Includes thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. A profile for every UN recognized country,
Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. - Winmo (formerly known as "Redbooks Agency & Advertising": Search for Brands, Agencies and Companies and more... This link opens in a new windowWinmo is formerly known as Redbooks Agency & Advertising. It provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertising agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Profiles include agency accounts, specializations, billings by media, and agency family trees. Also includes information on over 15,000 U.S. and international advertisers, which are companies that spend a significant portion of their annual budget on advertising. Includes specific advertising data such as approximate annual advertising spending by media and agencies retained by the advertiser. Redbooks.com also includes a job search site for openings in the advertising industry.
Industry Data
Industry research will allow you to better understand:
- The products and services provided
- How the industry is performing
- What the major companies are
- Important financial data
- How external forces alter business
North American Classification System (NAICS) codes are useful for industry research. Find the appropriate code vis the US Census Bureau and use it to search within databases: https://www.census.gov/naics/
You can search for the 2022 NAICS code by keyword. Example: coffee shop = 722515
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowUnited States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
- Statista: Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries This link opens in a new windowQuickly find data for popular topics in the news and across disciplines. Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Curated data is ready in multiple formats for Excel analysis or curated graphics can easily be pasted into presentations, research papers and Adobe Creative Cloud.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowGale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, usable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research.
Includes thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. A profile for every UN recognized country,
Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. - Reference Solutions (old name: ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is provided by the New Jersey State Library (JerseyClicks). Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; and 683,000 U.S. health care providers.
Demographic Data
- How to use the Census Business BuilderThis tutorial, provided by the US Census Bureau, teaches beginners how to select and visualize variables for your industry.
- Census Business BuilderTool that provides demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- How to use PolicyMapThis tutorial is provided by PolicyMap. The Quick Start video will walk users through how to make a map and also customizing data layers and points.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based, GIS-lite mapping tool. It allows you to create shaded maps with data points as well as tables with U.S. data. Community and Community Health profiles are also available for states, counties and towns.
Web Data Resources
- Commerce Data HubThe primary goal of this site is to provide an overview of the public data maintained by the Department of Commerce and its bureaus and offices.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industries at a GlanceNorth American Industry Classification System (NAICS) at BLS: Alphabetical order
- SEC’s Edgar OnlineThe Security & Exchange Commission's database, EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval), provides free access to 10-Ks, 10-Qs, proxies, prospectuses, and other documents.
- Demographic Data on the webLink to American Library Association's list of demographic data sources.
- FRED - St. Louis FED"Short for Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis..."
- U.S. Census Bureau - Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels.
- NaCo County ExplorerVisualization of county level data.