Accounting books primarily fall in the following call number classification range: HF 5601-5689. Browse through the accounting books located on the fourth floor of the Walsh Library.
Here is one example:
by Ray H. Garrison and Eric W. Noreen
Walsh Library Main Collection
HF5657.4 G37 2003
Dictionary of Accounting by Ralph Estes
Publication Date: 1985
Over 200 new terms have been added to this second edition, bringing the total to over 1,300 definitions. Many of the original entries have been revised, and comprehensive coverage is provided for financial accounting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, social accounting, information systems, computers, financial analysis, reporting standards, and statistical methods. Among the new terms are accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS), "carve-out" accounting, debt defeasance, deep discount bonds, flat rate tax, Governmental Accounting Standards Board, junior stock, "push down" accounting, shelf registration, single audit concept, stripped bond, tax equity and fiscal responsibility act, and windfall profits tax, to name a few.Ralph Estes is Professor of Accountancy at Wichita State University.
Blockchain: a disruptive technology, or a new chance for the business world? The answer is both. With potential to change how economic transactions are recorded, stored, and verified, blockchain is changing the very face of the accounting industry. Despite its ramifications, business students of today and the practicing accountants of tomorrow are not being adequately trained in this new technology, due to a lack of resources exploring it from an accountant and business expert's perspective. Through its discussion of real-world and 'use-cases' The Definitive Guide to Blockchain for Business and Accountingdistils an abstract technology into relatable experiences for business professionals. Including chapters from practicing professionals in the blockchain industry, The Definitive Guideshows readers how this innovative technology is changing the fundamentals of the business world. With international subject matter experts, this exciting new book includes perspectives from accountants, auditors, CEOs and CTOs on how blockchain is rewriting the future of the business and accounting world.
The rapidly evolving nature of emerging technologies, and the transformative and disruptive tendencies offered by these are reshaping professional activities, operations and functions as well as value creation. Exploring the wide ranging implications of the use of multiple emerging technologies by professional accountants, Social Media and Cloud Technology Use in Accounting providing illuminating insights in an exploratory study that reviews emerging technologies within an developing economy. Femi Oladele and Timothy Oyewole present a robust analysis of the literature surrounding established concepts and constructs within Accounting and explore changes for training and the wider framework for all areas of Accounting practice.The results of an in-depth predictive and interpretive value-analyses of Accountants' Training Framework (ATF) and Perception (PCT) on professional accountants' use of SoMoClo technologies are presented. The book offers reviews of existing theories presented alongside a brand new theoretical framework, drawing on interdisciplinary approaches to define new conceptual understandings of this fast moving business area.
Advances in Management Accounting(AIMA) is a publication of quality applied research in management accounting. The journal's purpose is to publish thought-provoking articles that advance knowledge in the management accounting discipline and are of interest to both academics and practitioners. As a premier management accounting research journal, AIMAis well-poised to meet the needs of management accounting scholars. Featured in Volume 32 are articles on: Public Sector Joint Ventures; Control; Trust; Perceived Risk; Cost Stickiness; Cost Behavior; Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Sustainability Performance; Information Asymmetry; Sustainability Disclosure; Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR); Asymmetric Cost Behavior; Lease Cost Stickiness; Retail Firms Cost Stickiness; Mood; Sunshine; Managerial Optimism; Asymmetric Cost Behavior; Adjustment Costs; Academic Research, Research-Practice Gap; Rigor-Relevance; Impact; Engagement; Relational Performance Measurement System; Managerial Ability; Employee Productivity; Employee Efficiency; Employee Cost; Financial Distress; Environmental Uncertainty.
Gain a strong understanding of the accounting information systems and related technologies you'll use in your business career with Hall's leading ACCOUNTING INFORMATION SYSTEMS, 10E. You'll find a unique emphasis on ethics, fraud, and the modern manufacturing environment. This edition focuses on the needs and responsibilities of accounting system designers and auditors. Coverage discusses Sarbanes-Oxley as it affects internal controls and other relevant topics. Examine the risks and advantages of IT outsourcing including cloud computing. With thorough updates of the transaction cycle and business processes coverage, you also gain a solid understanding of the risks and internal control issues related to a range of accounting information system technologies employed by today's small and large business organizations.
The revolutionary effects of using accounting information systems by displacing manual information systems in the private and public sectors cannot be overstated. The benefits of this substitution of set of processes include increased mathematical accuracy, predefined fields and coding tasks, and de-emphasis of manual clerical labor in favor of labor adept in data processing. Reporting can be significantly automated, facilitating managerial power and control at a distance and the proliferation of global enterprises. The potential detriments are rarely accurately, completely, and timely addressed as information system vendors, management consultants, and corporate procurement teams race toward the popularly conceived state of the art. Systems are ballyhooed as continually improving in processing speed, functionality, and capacity. Users of these automated systems may not consider big picture effects, and they may not intelligently consider the conduct risks to their own enterprises by concentrating such global reach and influence at high levels of senior management without dedicating adequate resources to verifying the accuracy, completeness, and timeliness of the information systems. This book considers these risks.
Detect accounting fraud before it's too late Accounting fraud is the deliberate manipulation of accounting records in order to make a company's financial performance seem better or worse than it actually is. Accounting scandals often have catastrophic consequences for shareholders and employees. Thus, analysts and auditors must be equipped to detect accounting fraud. This book is a comprehensive guide to detecting accounting fraud for auditors investigating accounting fraud and analysts/managers seeking to prevent it. A wide variety of warning signs are described, as are several techniques for detecting and addressing fraud. Understand the motivations and warning signs behind accounting fraud Get to know how accounting fraud is done and how to detect it Avoid the losses that often come from accounting fraud Benefit from case studies throughout to that help illustrate the author's points It's unfortunate that managers, auditors, and analysts must be wary of accounting fraud--but this book equips you with the know-how to detect it before it's too late.
Recently, financial crimes have increased exponentially in many regions of the world. Considering that these crimes are usually due to accounting fraud, more sensitive and effective approaches to accounting fraud and corruption have started developing. In this context, regulations have been put into practice in many countries for measures to be taken against fraud and corruption. It is not possible to take measures against and fight financial crimes by using old traditional methods. Instead, the field of Forensic Accounting has arisen to directly tackle these issues. In the 18 chapters in this volume of Contemporary Studies in Economic and Financial Analysis, expert contributors gather together to examine the extent and characteristics of forensic accounting, a field which has been practiced for many years, but is still not internationally regulated yet.
Designed for management students from a non-finance background, this book introduces the basic concepts of accounting and finance in an easy-to-understand manner. The book comprehensively covers the fundamental concepts of financial accounting, cost accounting, management accounting and financial management. It also introduces international accounting standards covering US GAPP and IFRS. Accounting and Finance for Non-finance Managers helps to develop the generic skills of application, problem-solving, evaluation and communication in the areas of accounting and finance to aid young managers in making appropriate business decisions.
Accounting is often referred to as the language of business. Unfortunately, many business professionals lack the required fluency in this unique language to perform basic financial analysis, prepare budgetary forecasts, or to compare competing capital investment alternatives. This book targets individuals with limited exposure to--or formal training in--accounting and related finance disciplines. These individuals include--but certainly are not limited to--engineers, information technology specialists, retail managers, entrepreneurs, marketing directors, construction contractors, attorneys, and bankers who are making career transitions from consumer lending positions to become commercial loan officers. The primary purpose of this book is to help managers and business owners from diverse professional and educational backgrounds to (1) converse more effectively with their accounting and finance colleagues; (2) understand the structure and the elements of general purpose financial statements; (3) identify both the usefulness and the limitations of accounting information; (4) prepare budgets and financial forecasts; and (5) make sense of commonly used decision-making models.
Summary: This book presents a comprehensive and holistic study on being a financial practitioner today. Using a practice theory approach, the book analyzes the work life stories of four financial practitioners who have been working between 13 and 25 years during the period of 1973 to 2015 and explains how their work identities are constituted in the practices throughout the years. It clarifies the public image of the management accountants and provides a better understanding of today's management accountants--who they are and how they are formed--while theorizing on how to develop the next generation.-- Provided by publisher.