English Research Guide

A multi-disciplinary database for academic institutions with peer-reviewed full-text journals across disciplines including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Focuses on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

Cambridge Companions Online offers subject or theme based collections in a searchable online environment. The Companions are available as a Complete Collection; Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.

This database focuses on literature and language periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues.

Provides reliable information on authors and their works, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Collection of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800.

Showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features.

Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of literary authors from every period and discipline. Its resources cover more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with additional in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

Features thousands of annotated references and bibliographic citations on a wide-range of people, places, and specific events which had an impact on shaping world history.

JSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from many disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).

Literature Online contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day.

Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

The OED is the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.

Project Muse provides the full-text of over 300 major university press journals including Johns Hopkins, Ohio State University, Michigan State University, and many others.

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.