In this vivid and elegantly written history, Dermot Quinn examines how Seton Hall was able to develop as an institution while keeping faith with its founder's vision. Looking at the men and women who made Seton Hall what it is today, he paints a compelling picture of a university that has enjoyed its share of triumphs but has also suffered tragedy and loss. He shows how it was established in an age of prejudice and transformed in the aftermath of war, while exploring how it negotiated between a distinctly Roman Catholic identity and a mission to include Americans of all faiths.
Celebrate the rich history with images of the people, the events, and the campus that have defined Seton Hall over nearly 150 years. Seton Hall College opened its doors in 1856 in Madison, New Jersey, with an entire student body of five young men. Since then, it has grown to become a major Catholic university, focusing on academic excellence and ethical development. Named for St. Elizabeth Ann Bayley Seton and founded by her nephew, the Rt. Rev. James Roosevelt Bayley, the history of Seton Hall has been a mirror of American history from its earliest days. Enrollment went down after the Civil War, and in the 1940s and early '50s, nine out of ten students were World War II veterans. During the 1960s, the school eased into coeducation and the 1970s brought important cultural growth to the campus.
Seton Hall Magazine is published by the Department of Public Relations and Marketing in the Division of University Advancement. Online archives date back to 2006, with physical copies dating back to 1982 available in the Monsignor Field Archives and Special Collections Center.
The following site showcases the current issue of The Setonian (school newspaper) up front and features an archived issue site which displays content from April 2009 to the present. Issues prior to 2009 are available in the Monsignor Field Archives and Special Collections Center.
The original title of the college annual/yearbook was The White and Blue:from 1924-1933 and 1939-1942. There were no editions published between 1934-1938 or 1943-1946. This publication resumed production and was renamed The Galleon in 1947. An annual edition was created each year between 1947-2001 and 2006 prior to suspension of the publication. The 2006 edition is a work complied of content between the years 2002-2006. Physical copies of the yearbooks are available in the Monsignor Field Archives and Special Collections Center. For a history of the yearbook, please see An Overview of the Seton Hall Yearbook and its Publication History (1924-2006), by Alan Delozier