Sports History & Academics
Reference Works
As you begin your research your results may include such items as encyclopedias, almanacs, dictionaries and yearbooks. These items provide an excellent introduction to a topic and may help you focus and narrow your research. These resoruces exists as physical books in the Library and as online resources.
You may wish to start with the Encyclopedia Britannica
The Oxford English Dictionary provides excellent definitions
Reference works in Walsh Library
Some examples of reference works:
Resources in the Walsh Library in the Reference collection*:
Cassell's Chronology of World History: Dates, Events and Ideas That Made History. D11 .W635 2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World. D205 .O94 2008
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture. DS33 .C63 2000
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture. DT20 .E53 2005
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world. DS35.53 .O96 2009
*The Reference section of the library is located on the 2nd or Main Floor. Items from this section do not circulate and must be consulted in the Library.
These are only some of the resources available in Walsh Library as introductory works. Do a search of the Library Catalog to see what else you discover!
Reference works in the databases
Online reference works:
History reference works available through Credo Reference:
You may also wish to look at the Social Science works in Credo Reference.
Alcohol and Temperance in Modern History: An International Encyclopediaabcalc2003
Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World Historyandedwh
Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egyptbdmodegypt
Chambers Dictionary of World Historychambdictwh
The Companion to British History, Routledgeroutcbh
Concise Atlas of World History, Andromedaandawh
Dictionary of British Historymhbh2002
A Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the presentbkchist
The Encyclopaedia of the Renaissancemheren
Encyclopedia of African Historyroutafricanhistory
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic Worldsharpeeman2007
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Cultureroutmex1998
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformersabcwsr2001
The Encyclopedia of World Historyhmencyclwh
Encyclopedia of World Trade From Ancient Times to the Presentsharpewt2005
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850routromanticera
A Guide to the Ancient World, H.W. Wilsongttaw
The Hutchinson Chronology of World Historyheliconcwh2010
Immigration and Asylum from 1900 to Presentabcmigrate2005
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical Worldhupla1999
The Macquarie Encyclopedia of Australian Eventsmacevents
Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and Historyabcmexico2004
The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, Houghton Mifflinhmndcl
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Presentabcprop2003
The Reader's Companion to Military Historyrcmh
Reader's Guide to British Historyroutbrithistory
Ships of the World, Houghton Mifflinshipheads
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance, Thethir
The Welsh Academy Encyclopaedia of Waleswaencywales2008
Who Was Who at Waterloo: A Biography of the Battlepearsonwwww2007
Who's Who in Ancient Egypt, Routledgeroutwwae
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History, Routledgeroutgayandles
Who's Who in The Roman World, Routledgeroutwwromwor