Skip to Main Content
Entrepreneurship
Resources for use in SHU entrepreneurship courses. Note that library provided materials are for SHU students to use for educational use only.
Industry Research
NAICS codes are used to classify businesses by type, so that data for businesses in North America (i.e., the United States, Mexico, and Canada) can be presented and analyzed in a uniform manner. Codes are reviewed every five years to ensure their relevance, accuracy, and timeliness.
Once you have identified the proper NAICS code, you can find further information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. You can also use the NAICS code to research the industry on databases.
Industry Databases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowUnited States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowGale Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, usable context. This unique resource empowers users to not only research topics but also to interpret their research.
Includes thousands of global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content. A profile for every UN recognized country,
Global Histories, SWOT Reports, Thomson Reuters Company Financials and Investment Reports, Market Share Reports, and Industry Research Essays. - Business Market Research Collection (1986 - current) (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new windowConduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
- Statista: Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries This link opens in a new windowQuickly find data for popular topics in the news and across disciplines. Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries. Curated data is ready in multiple formats for Excel analysis or curated graphics can easily be pasted into presentations, research papers and Adobe Creative Cloud.
Web Resources
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Industry InformationAn alphabetical listing of industries
- Local Area Unemployment Statistics MapState, county, and metro area level data provided by the BLS.
- Census Business BuilderTool that provides demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau
- County Business Patterns (CBP)"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
- U.S. Census Bureau - Economic CensusEconomic Census Geographic Areas Statistics
- Valuation Resources: Industry ResourcesResource guides for more than 400 industries, organized by SIC code
- SEC Filings - EDGAR search10k, 10Q, 8k, etc.