Seton Hall University Libraries: Catholic Studies: Primary Sources: Catholic Reference Works

Seton Hall University

This guide is designed to aid researchers who focus on Catholic Studies inquiry with support materials provided via the Monsignor William Noé Field Archives & Special Collections Center and associated sources.

Catholic Reference Works

Books and periodicals available in the Seton Hall University Libraries

The Catholic directory, ecclesiastical register and almanac by London, Burns & Oates.
Call Number: BXZ1491.A1 C25
Publication Date: 1879
Catholic telephone guide.
Call Number: BXZ1417.N4 C3
Publication Date: 1986, 1990
Directory and almananc, Archdiocese of Newark. by Catholic Church. Archdiocese of Newark (N.J.)
Call Number: BX4435 .D5
Publication Date: 2016-2020
Official directory of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark, N.J.
Hoffmanns Catholic directory, almanac and clergy list quarterly. by Hoffmann Bros. Co.
Call Number: BXZ845 .C5
Publication Date: 1889-1925 (sporadic)
Containing complete reports from all dioceses in the United States, Canada and Newfoundland.
The official Catholic directory for the year of Our Lord by P.J. Kenedy & Sons
Call Number: BX845 .C5
Publication Date: 1913-2022 (sporadic)
The official Catholic directory 2002 : pilgrimage destinations guide. by Official Catholic Directory.
Call Number: BXZ4306 .O3 2002
Publication Date: 2002
A photo directory of the United States Catholic hierarchy : August, 1993. by Jacquelyn M Murphy, John Zierten
Call Number: BXZ845 .P46 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Sadliers' Catholic directory, almanac and ordo.
Call Number: BXZ 845 .S25
Publication Date: 1864-1896 (sporadic)
With a full report of the various dioceses in the United States and British North America, and a list of archbishops, bishops, and priests in Ireland.

Digitized Catholic directories available on the Internet Archive

Catholic Directories, Official - Various, c. 1886-2019
Different digital editions produced by either P.J. Kenedy, Hoffman, or another Publishing House.