This encyclopedia is a comprehensive introduction to Catholic social thought. The work combines three levels of analysis (1) broad-ranging theoretical work on key topics and scholarly disciplines, (2) social science perspectives on a wide range of topics relating to human nature and society, and (3) treatment of policy issues.
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences negatively and positively institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life."
The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
"The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought"brings together writers from around the world, writing on present-day social issues as well as historical issues and movements that have shaped our current views. Included are articles on the great social encyclicals, from Leo XIII's "Rerum Novarum" to John Paul II's "Centesimus Annus," and the Vatican II documents and various episcopal documents that relate to social concerns and the field of social ethics. The articles on fundamental human rights include such issues as poverty, homelessness, exploitation, and feminism. Also included are articles dealing with economics, industry, labor, political systems, and environmental concerns, as these impact and influence modern Catholic social thought. Theological concerns, liturgical movements, and scriptural foundations are well represented. "The New Dictionary of Catholic Social Thought" will be "the" reference work for anyone involved in social outreach or connected with the field of social ethics. Entries include: "Abortion (Social Implications) "by James J. McCartney, OSA "Arms Race "by Joseph Cardinal Bernardin "Birth Control "by James P. Hanigan "Business Ethics "by Vincent Burns "Catholic Worker "by June O'Connor "Culture "by Allan Figueroa Deck, SJ "Ecology "by Thomas Ryan, SM "Evangelization "by Robert Schreiter, CPPS "Feminism and Catholic Social Thought "by Barbara Hogan "Genocide "by John T. Palikowski, OSM "Homosexuality (Social Implications) "by Vincent Genovesi, SJ "Human Rights "by Thomas Hoppe "Images of God "by John R. Sachs, SJ "Moral Life (Christian) "by Vincent McNamara "Preferential Option for the Poor "by Donald Dorr "Religious Freedom "by J. Leon Hopper, SJ "Secularism "by Cyril T. Haley, SSC "Sin "by Judith A. Merkle, SND de N "Stewardship "by Gerald Coleman, SS "Synod of Bishops "by Avery Dulles, SJ "Taxes "by Charles E. Curran "Technology "by John M. Staudenmaier, SJ "Vatican II "by Frederick J. Cwiekowski, SS "Women "by Maria Riley, OP "
Especially in today's complicated world, moral practice and decision-making raise many hard questions. Dealing with those questions often requires wide-ranging understanding--in areas such as systematic and practical theology, psychology, economics, sociology and philosophy. For the first time, the New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology offers expert information and guidance across this range of disciplines--in a single volume.Besides hundreds of articles on specific issues, the Dictionary includes eighteen major keynote articles which provide a basic introduction to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology. These articles alone constitute a textbook of Christian ethics, excellently surveying that broad field.Written at a nontechnical and accessible level, this Dictionary will be consulted again and again by Christians from all walks of life.
Readings in Christian Ethics presents in one volume the most consequential ethical writings from the earliest days of Christianity through the late twentieth century. Introductory material for each selection is provided to help set each piece in its proper historical and social context.