This comprehensive five-volume work analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions--Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Ranging from prehistoric times up to the early centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa. It includes 1,125 alphabetically arranged entries on sites, languages, material culture, archaeological methods, organizations and institutions, and major excavators and scholars of the field. This one-of-a-kind, accessibly written reference brings new breadth to the study of archaeology in the biblical world, making it a valuable resource not only to scholars and students of archaeology, but also to those with an interest in ancient art and architecture, languages, history, and religion.
The Best Bible Study Tool Available Only one concordance includes the best of Vine's Complete Expository Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words: The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. The Hebrew, Greek, and Aramaic dictionaries now have three times more word study information than any other edition. Plus additional cross-references from leading dictionaries make this the ultimate reference tool for pastors, teachers, and all students of the Bible. Features Include: The only Strong's that includes Vine's Complete Dictionary of Old and New Testament Words Words of Christ in red Complete topical index of the Bible Hebrew, Greek, and Aramaic dictionaries now have three times more word study information than any other edition Additional cross-references and word study helps from leading dictionaries
This volume includes more than 15,000 citations to periodical literature published during the twentieth century. Citations are included for each of the books and of the New Testament and these are arranged in canonical order. The specific references are set forth within each canonical book by textual unit. The arrangement of these textual units is the longer before the shorter. There are approximately 175 periodicals included. While the major emphasis is upon English language journals, there are several different language groups represented. The journals included are representative of various theological perspectives. The work includes a comprehensive author index.Index to Periodical Literature for the Study of the New Testament has been selected by Choice as Outstanding Academic Title (2005).
This superbly illustrated and organized reference source is the first comprehensive visual guide to the world's religious traditions. With text by leading experts, and lavishly illustrated with photographs, thematic maps, site reconstructions, and tables and charts, many in full color, theAtlas charts the origin, growth, and spread of all major faiths. A survey of contemporary religious life, its historical background, and a glossary, index, and list of resources enhance the research value of the book.
This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD. The atlas has 170 large color maps that document the main historical developments. Each map is accompanied by a text that outlines the main historical developments. These texts include bibliographies and 65 additional maps, tables and stemmata that provide further elucidation.