The Catholic Study Bible was designed for advanced students of the Scriptures by today's top Catholic scholars. A nearly 600-page Reading Guide is linked to the biblical text by means of marginal references to specific pages in the Guide. Other features include: reference articles on keyissues of Bible study, a glossary of specialized terms, the complete Sunday and weekday lectionaries, full color New Oxford Bible Maps, and a 70-page, select NAB concordance.
The Complete Parallel Bible presents four of the most highly respected modern language Bible translations arranged side by side for easy comparison. The parallel format brings new insights into the distinct characteristics that distinguish the texts used by Protestant, Catholic, and OrthodoxChristians. This unique work highlights the importance of the translation process in defining the priorities and concerns of these different groups, and reveals interesting contrasts in literary styles, verse placement, and canonical content. The volume includes three translations that have animprimatur (NRSV, NAB, NJB). Available in cloth and fine leather bindings.
Contains the complete text of the Regular Edition, with condensed notes and introductions. Easy-to-read two column format, with a Theological Glossary containing two hundred key words and concepts. Perfect for the casual reader.
The new Annotated is a complete revision of Oxford's classic study Bible, and the first such resource to incorporate the full text of the acclaimed New Revised Standard Version Bible. The features of this enhanced resource include: expanded notes and essays compiled by top scholars,including seven new essays on major subdivisions, a new introductory essay by Bruce Metzger on how to use the new Annotated in reading and study, and a better organized book design. Also included is a 36-page indexed map section featuring Oxford's world famous Bible maps. The new Annotated issensitive to inclusive language. It is an invaluable resource for students, scholars, religious educators, and pastors for personal and group study. The new Annotated is available in editions with and without the Apocrypha, and in fine leather bindings.
The Oxford NRSV Bible offers readers an unbeatable combination of quality construction, affordability, and the most accurate translation of the Bible available today. Churches and homes across America overwhelmingly choose the NRSV for its easy-to-understand translation and its sensitivity to inclusive language. A multi-denominational committee of scholars from around the world based their revision on the original Hebrew, Greek, and Aramaic texts. The Oxford NRSV also includes the most complete collection of Aprocryphal and Deuterocanonical books. The Oxford NRSV follows in Oxford University Press's long tradition of publishing elegant bibles under the best biblical scholarship available in the world, offering the highest quality bibles for reasonable values. Choose from an array of attractive bindings and colors - cloth, fine leather, and economical paperback editions - to suit your needs. Whether for gift-giving, individual study, or for church distribution, this durable yet elegant bible is perfect for any occasion. Features include: * Two column text. * Eight pages of full color New Oxford Bible Maps (except for 9820A) * Ninety-six page, select NRSV Concordance. * Available with and without the Apocrypha
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
For the pastor or serious layperson, the realm of biblical interpretation can be a confusing maze of personalities, communities, methods, and theories. This maze can often result in obscuring the main goal of interpreting Scripture: hearing and knowing God better. The Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible is a groundbreaking reference tool that introduces readers to key names, theories, and concepts in the field of biblical interpretation. It discusses these approaches and evaluates their helpfulness in enabling Christians to hear what God is saying to the church through Scripture. The contributors come from a variety of backgrounds, and the dictionary covers a broad range of topics with both clarity and depth.
Compiling the results from contemporary and exciting areas of research into one single important volume, this book stands ahead of its field in providing a comprehensive one-stop Handbook reference of biblical interpretation.Examining a wide range of articles on many of the recognized interpreters including Augustine, Luther and Calvin, up to the modern figures of Martin Hengel and T.W. Manson, Porter expertly combines the study of biblical interpretation with the examination of the theological and philosophical preconceptions that have influenced it, and surveys the history of interpretation from different perspectives. Key perspectives studied include:the historical dimension; addressing how interpretation has developed at various periods of time; from early Jewish exegesis to the historical-critical methodthe conceptual approach; looks at the various schools of thought that have generated biblical interpretation, and compares and contrasts competing conceptual models of interpretation the personal perspective; addresses the reality of biblical interpretation by individuals who have helped plot the course of theological developmentWith relevant bibliographies and a guide to further reading, this Dictionary will be an extremely important reference held for many years, not only by libraries, but also by students, scholars, clergy and teachers of this fascinating and high-profile subject.
The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) pursues a twofold task. Firstly, it comprehensively renders the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Secondly, it documents the history of the Bible’s reception, not only in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora, but also in literature, art, music, and film, as well as Islam and other religious traditions and current religious movements.
Handbook of Biblical Criticism
by Richard N. Soulen; R. Kendall Soulen
Call Number: BS511.3 .S68 2001
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Richard Soulen and R. Kendall Soulen have thoroughly revised this comprehensive guide to the basic terms and concepts of biblical criticism. Integrating the newest methods and theories of biblical studies, this third edition contains over eight hundred terms, phrases, names, explanations of common abbreviations, notes on major methodologies and exegetical basics, biographical sketches of key figures in the history of research, analytical outlines of fundamental critical problems, a list of bibliographic tools, plus an invaluable diagram of biblical interpretation. Everything a student needs for a class in biblical interpretation.
This book is the most comprehensive and up-to-date work of its kind. It draws fully upon man's accumulated knowledge of the Bible and other relevant data and documents. For educators and students it is a comprehensive reference.
From "A minore ad majus" to "Zion," and from source criticism to deconstruction, this extended glossary clarifies approximately 50 methods of biblical interpretation and their attending vocabularies. No mere catalog of definitions, it clarifies the fundamental role of methodology in the interpretative process.
The most complete coverage of theological topics This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NSRV. Unparalleled quality of information Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. Totally new entries 7100 fresh, original articles. Also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries. Balanced and relevant content For any pastor, rabbi, preacher, teacher, or student who is preparing to serve the congregation. Theological content and thorough discussion of various interpretations is tailored for congregational use. It will become your most trusted companion!
The Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible, the result of more than ten years of research and preparation, provides Bible students with a comprehensive and reliable library of information. Varying viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Well-organized and generously illustrated, this encyclopedia will become a frequently used resource and reference work because of its many helpful features: - More than 5,000 pages of vital information of Bible lands and people - More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference - Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs - Thirty-two pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for quick perspective and ready reference - Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by recent archaeological discoveries - Two hundred and thirty-eight contributors from around the world. The editors have brought to this encyclopedia the fruit of many years of study and research.