"The declaration that a saint is a Doctor of the Universal Church implies the recognition of a charism of wisdom bestowed by the Holy Spirit for the good of the Church . . ." -- Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI The 35 Doctors of the Church presents the most comprehensive and fasci-nating collection available anywhere on the lives and labors of the saints who have been declared the Church's Doctors. From St. Athanasius (c. 297-373) to St. Thérèse of Lisieux (1873-1897), you'll find the amazing stories of 35 extraordinary men and women who are honored both for their holiness and for the eminence of their teachings about the Faith. Their work and witness are truly timeless; their lives and wisdom show us how to be holy in our own lives, how to confront the challenges of today, and how to proclaim the Gospel to a modern world hungering for Jesus Christ. Originally published as The 33 Doctors of the Church by Father Christopher Rengers, O.F.M. Cap., The 35 Doctors of the Church has been updated by Dr. Matthew E. Bunson, K.H.S., to include two new chapters about recently pro-claimed Doctors, St. John of Ávila and St. Hildegard of Bingen. The revised edition also includes a new Introduction with a detailed explanation of how the Church proclaims Doctors and their meaning for today.
One of the most well-known and relied-upon reference works of all time has been updated and revised The twelve volumes of the revised "Butler's Lives of the Saints" correspond to the months of the year; each volume contains entries on saints with feast days in that month.
This first reference work of its kind ever published in the United States is a splendid and unique achievement created by hundreds of historians and writers who cooperated to narrate the saga of American Catholicism. Beginning with Columbus, this comprehensive work spans half a millennium and covers the men, women, and events that shaped Catholic life in a vast and diverse nation. Over1,200 articles, 300 photographs, and a million words comprise this elegant volume, which provides American Catholics with a panoramic and extraordinary education in their identity and heritage. Edited by Michael Glazier and Thomas J. Shelley, "The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History" recounts the struggles and status of American Catholics in every generation of the nation's history. It also narrates and charts the phenomenal growth of the Church in each of the fifty states. It contains hundreds of factual biographies of men and women from al stratas of society. It focuses on the explorers; the pioneering Spanish, French, and English missionaries; the struggles of the colonial and revolutionary era; the turbulent and transforming nineteenth century with its waves of immigrants; the industrial revolution; and the challenges and crises of this century, down to our day. al the major events and movements which united or divided Catholics are covered: The Revolution, Lay Trusteeism, slavery and the Civil War, the arrival of immigrants, Nativism and bigotry, Americanism, Modernism, the Labor Movement, the Knights of Columbus, wars, anti-semitism, the New Deal and Prohibition, anti- Communism, McCarthyism, the Women's Revolution, civil rights, Vietnam, "Human vitae," liturgy, and capital punishment. Other subjects, which were often neglected by past historians, are given greater consideration. These include the role of women and Native Americans and the growth of Catholicism in the United States. The great personalities men and women from each decade and era are perceptively portrayed, and rewarding attention is given to the women lay and religious who played a major role in educating and forming the Catholic children of America for over five generations. Entries are arranged alphabetically for convenient use by those who preach, teach, or study. The primary aim of each entry, whether it reflects some original research or summarizes existing scholarship, is to provide basic information while its bibliographical citations open the road to further study. The American Catholic Church has been the home to a vast variety of people. The notable men and women who appear in these pages represent countless millions who are little known. But American Catholicism today is the living monument to their lives and labors. Knowing their history gives today's Americans confidence, and "The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History" is a celebration of their faith. The contributors to this work have been selected for their scholarship and competence. Among the hundreds of distinguished contributors are: James Hennesey, Kathleen Neils Colzen, Mary Oates, Karen Kennelly, James Pula, Philip Gleason, Steven Avella, Dominic Monti, Jaime Vidal, Kenneth Baker, Sandra Yokum Mize, David O'Brien, Thomas Spalding, Archbishop Oscar Lipscomb, Gerald Fogerty, Clyde Crews, Christopher Kauffman, Robert Trisco, Patrick Carey, and Mary Elizabeth Brown. "Over four decades ago, Michael Glazier began his publishing career in Ireland. After coming to America he studied the focal aspects of U.S. publishing, from book design to marketing and eventually became a consultant to a group of American and European publishers. In 1972 he founded Scholarly Resources Inc., which specializes in diplomatic, legal and congressional history. He initiated and directed the publication of standard reference works including the 150-volume "British Parliamentary Papers of the Eighteenth Century." In 1977 he founded Michael Glazier Inc. which published both scholarly religious and secular title
With 1 billion Catholics in the world -- and 57 million in the United States alone -- Catholicism is the world's most familiar religion. Yet many facets of this varied and dynamic tradition remain unknown or poorly understood. Now The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism offers a one-volume comprehensive and authoritative guide to the people, doctrines, history, worship, art, spirituality, literature, theological developments, and changes that have shaped the Church over nearly two millennia. Led by general editor Richard P. McBrien, bestselling author of Catholicism, an editorial team drawn almost entirely from the University of Notre Dame has collected more than 4,200 entries written by 280 leading experts from around the world and across the theological spectrum, including Benedict Ashley, Gerald O'Collins, Sandra B. Schneiders, Hans K8ng, Walter H. Principe, Elizabeth Johnson, Joseph A. Fitzmyer, Virgilio Elizondo, Catherine Mowry LaCugna, Robert F. Taft, Peter Hebblethwaite, Dermot A. Lane, Francis A. Sullivan, Robert F. Trisco, and John Strynkowski. A concise reference for understanding Catholic terms such as vigil light and maniple, The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism also offers superb feature-length entries on subjects ranging from the seven sacraments, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, the Blessed Virgin Mary, Peter, Paul, Augustine, and Aquinas to prayer and Christian spirituality, Catholicism in the United States, women in the Church, and Vatican II. Treating Catholicism as a unique tradition, community, and way of life, the encyclopedia defines and describes topics such as Eastern Catholicism, canon law, devotions, religious orders and lay organizations, and saints, angels, and archangels. Also included are tables of the liturgical calendar, ecumenical councils, and a list of all the popes, complete with a brief biography of each. A convenient and reliable source of information regarding every aspect of Catholicism, past and present, The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism covers the controversy and dissent within the Church as well as its teachings and beliefs, providing a balanced and unparalleled resource for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of Catholic life.
This authoritative encyclopedia combines a wealth of information with an attractive, easy-to-read format for a reference of value that will make an exceptional gift. A full-color sixteen-page section depicts the life of Jesus in sacred art from the tenth century to the present.
Named as one of the top "50 resources for the Millennium" by "LibraryJournal, The New Catholic Encyclopedia" has long been regarded as one of the best core references in use today by libraries and religious organizationsaround the world. The first revision in 30 years, the 15-volume Encyclopedia includes more than 12,000 entries from a wide breadth of concerns.Gale Group
A fine summary of the beliefs, rites, events, movements, memorable popes, saints, and other key persons in Catholic history. A lively introduction summarizes Church history from the time of Christ, through the various schismatic movements, to present-day Catholicism in the U.S. The A to Z entries also focus on theology and doctrine, providing balanced coverage of controversies. An excellent student resource, user-friendly, and the ideal starting place for research assignments.